Jump to content


Hinton

Members
  • Content Count

    362
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

Hinton last won the day on December 5 2010

Hinton had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

1

About Hinton

  • Rank
    Enlightened
  • Birthday 06/18/1969

Contact Methods

  • Website URL
    http://
  • ICQ
    0
  • Yahoo
    eb_hinton

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Nebraska
  • Interests
    I just got started with miniatures in Sept. 2006, so, as of this writing, I'm really new to the hobby.<br /><br />Kind of an interesting side note: I started playing RPGs (D&D and the like) when I was 15. Even though I knew about miniatures, I never got into painting them. I figured that I just didn't have the talent or patience for it.<br /><br />All those years I could have been painting....<br /><br />Oh well; I plan on making up for lost time as best as I can.

Recent Profile Visitors

312 profile views
  1. Hinton

    I'm getting married!

    Congratulations on the upcoming nuptials!
  2. Four A Miniatures http://www.fouraminiatures.com/ El Greco http://www.elgrecominiatures.co.uk/ Terragnosis http://www.terragnosis.co.uk/competition_time.shtml Studio McVey http://www.seditionwars.com Pegaso Models http://www.pegasomodels.it/home_en.asp Corsar Rex Miniatures http://www.modelsculpt.org/chief2010/gallery/toy-igrushka/ Tartar Miniatures http://tartarminiaturs.blogspot.com/ Smart Max http://www.smartmaxstore.com/
  3. Darksword http://www.darkswordminiatures.com/ Scorpio Models http://www.scorpio-models.com/portal/index.php Four A Miniatures http://www.fouraminiatures.com/ Elite Miniaturas www.eliteminiaturas.com/ DGS Games http://www.dgsgames.com/ Taban Miniatures http://www.taban-miniatures.com/ Militmodel http://www.militmodel.it/ Wargames and Miniatures Paradise http://wamp-forum.com
  4. Hinton

    Happy Thanksgiving

    Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!
  5. Sorry for any confusion. Fixed the video link.
  6. Price increases, new minis and bases, and a report from James in the UK: Andrea Miniatures http://www.andrea-miniatures.com Elodie Mae http://elodiemae.com Scale 75 http://www.scale75.com/ Fiendish Fabrications http://www.fiendishfabrications.com.au/index.html Crooked Dice http://www.crooked-dice.co.uk/minis.html Foundations of War https://sslrelay.com/www.foundationsofwar.co.uk GiganticDark http://www.giganticminiatures.com/shop.htm Warlord Games http://www.warlordgames.co.uk/ Immortal Miniatures http://www.immortalminiatures.com/ Victrix http://www.victrixlimited.com/ Perry Miniatures http://www.perry-miniatures.com/
  7. Okay, before I post anything else, let me explain something for those that might be wondering what's going on here. Several months ago, I started doing video reviews for things related to the hobby of painting miniatures. It started out as just goofing around, but it's really started to take off here lately. If you want, you can check out my channel on YouTube (Hinton's YouTube Channel) and start with the Twilight Knight Pin-up Model review to see where it all began. And it's not just minis that I review, either. There are reviews of tools of the hobby (such as brushes), video tutorials and, in the case of this latest one, games. Anyway, on to the InSpectres review. Ever had the dream of being a ghostbuster? Of course you have. With InSpectres, you get the chance to be a supernatural investigator and eliminator. But, is it any good? InSpectres: InSpectres website
  8. Items in this edition: MiniPaintingWiki.com http://minipaintingwiki.com Puppets War: http://www.puppetswar.eu/ Mantic Games: http://www.manticgames.com/home.html Westwind: http://www.westwindproductions.co.uk/ Tale of War: http://www.taleofwar.com/shop/ Studio Miniatures: http://www.studiominiatures.com/ Copplestone Castings: http://www.copplestonecastings.co.uk/ Maurice Corry: http://www.120mini.com/ Armorama: http://armorama.com/
  9. Hinton

    Chess set for charity

    For those that weren't aware of this, Brett (Darklord at WaMP) has put together a massive online contest, all for charity (click the link in my signature for more information). Originally, my plan was to build a chessboard and auction it off for this. However, others mentioned that having pieces painted for the set might help raise more money; some offered to help by painting pieces and donating them to the set. After a great deal of discussion and contemplation, we’re going to go for it. We’ll be using a Living vs. Zombie theme, so we’ll need minis for both sides of the conflict to fit into this. So, here’s the deal: the deadline for entries into the Little Angels Auction Contest is February 14th, 2010. That means that I need to have the all of the pieces in hand no later than February 10th, 2010. That’s just over two months to complete the set. It’s close, I know, but I think we do this. If you wish to take part in this (and there are many ways you can help out), please be sure to check out the guidelines and then sign up or send me a PM.
  10. Hinton

    Skeleton Heads

    Reaper sells these: http://www.reapermini.com/store/customer/p...at=0&page=1 Freebooter has these (although the War Store is currently out of stock; maybe you can go straight through FB to get them): http://www.thewarstore.com/product26498.html You can also search for "skulls" at the War Store and there are a few returns. Hasslefree has heads: http://www.hasslefreeminiatures.co.uk/range.php?range_id=60 That's about all I know of.
  11. Hinton

    She loves me, she really loves me!

    A girl I was dating a few months back bought me one of these for Christmas. It's pretty nice, but the lights are a bit on the dim side. I've tried finding replacement bulbs that are brighter, but no luck there. And yeah, the tripod isn't very good either. Still, the tent itself is pretty nice.
  12. Hinton

    Happy Birthday LordColdsteal

    Happy Birthday, Rob. Hope all is well on your end.
  13. Hinton

    Failed legislation

    Yeah, the taxpayers definitely paid for this one. The government continues to try and legislate things like this when they should know it's going to get shot down. I find it interesting that the governor that started this said: "We know violent and sexually explicit video games pose a direct risk to kids, so we should make every effort to keep them out of kids' hands." I'd like to see the research and studies that prove this.
  14. I hope it's ok to post this since it is something about another miniature company. Wyrd Miniatures has released the inaugral issue of Wyrd Chronicles, a free ezine (in .pdf format - about 18 MB in size) filled with all kinds of things Wyrd, including a painting tutorial and a sculpting tutorial. There's also a bit of information on the skirmish game Malifaux that they're working on and an interview with the founder and owner, Nathan Caroland. You can check it out here: Wyrd Chronicles, Issue 1
  15. Hinton

    Museum director destroys students' diorama.

    After doing a bit digging, I've found a few things: The diorama was the idea of the late General John C. L. Scribner, founding director of the museum (and for whom the museum was renamed). Glen Frakes sent updates (which included photos) and called General Scribner several times about the progress on the diorama. General Scribner kept the board of directors informed and even provided Jeff Hunt's book to Mr. Frakes as a guide. So Scribner and the board did know how it was being put together. As far as the inaccuracies, what follows are statements made by other people, not Jeff Hunt himself. As far as I know, there hasn't been an official press release or statement from Hunt. 1. The hills/mountains in the background are probably too high...that is a coastal area where the battle took place so it may only have sand dune hills for many miles inland. 2. The river current flow is in the wrong direction. 3. The Confederates may not have possessed swords. 4. No record of that paddlewheeler having canon. 5. The paddlewheeler is too close to the shore. 6. The steamboat in the diorama was a stern wheeler, when supposedly ALL steamboats on that particular river were of a different kind. 7. The paddlewheeler in the battle was a dual-paddle, not single as was depicted in the diorama. 8. The French soldiers supporting troops in the background were wearing French uniforms. Jeff Hunt (supposedly) says they weren't wearing their uniforms during the battle. Again, just statements from others.
×