Jump to content
Stubbdog

Linked

Recommended Posts

The SA linked, is very confusing in its currently written form. It can be read several different ways. It needs to be re-written for better understanding, and possibly an example included just to make sure.

 

 

Currently, just a couple of ways that I read this:

 

1. It says that I can re-roll any miss up to the number of times listed, so there fore if I have a unit that has 1 gun with a linked 2, I can try 2 more times to hit. But, if I have a unit with 2 guns and a linked 2, each gun can try up to 2 more times for a total of 6 possible rolls at hitting.

 

2. If I have a unit with 2 guns and linked 1, each gun can re-roll a miss for a total of 4 possible rolls.

 

3. If I have a unit with 2 guns and linked 1, then no matter if both guns miss, I can only roll 1 extra try, for a total of 3 possible rolls.

 

4. a unit with 2 guns and linked 2, if 1 gun hits and the other misses, the second gun would get up to 2 more rolls to try and hit for a total possible rolls of 4.

 

5. a unit with 2 guns and linked 2, if 1 gun hits and the other misses, the second gun only gets 1 more roll, as the extra roll for the first gun does not come into play cause it hit...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Linked/# is the total number or rerolls allowed period.

 

if you have Linked/2 you get two rerolls that action phase Period reguardless of the number of weapons on the unit. These also only apply to direct fire weapons.

 

two weapons and linked/2 means you get a reroll each, sence the rerolled number must be used reguardless of its outcome.

 

Mad Pat

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Again, this is just a suggestion that it needs to be re-written in the rules. Cause it is not clear as currently stated.

 

Heck even the way you just responded is not quite clear. It is clear that a unit with 2 DF attacks with a linked 2 will not get up to 6 rolls as my #1 option read as, but you are still not very clear about how it matches up with the say #4 or #5 in my examples...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Pats explination makes sense to me, I think! ::D:

 

If you have Link/2 you get 2 re-rolls. The number of DA's that the unit has, or hits with is irrelevent.

 

You have 2 DA's you hit with one and miss the other, you get your two re-rolls on the missed shot.

 

At least thats how I read it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree that that is one possible way to read it, and if that is the way it is suppose to be then fine. I am just saying that the way it is written currently allows for multiple ways of reading it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One reroll per weapon, Period These are not generic luck rerolls, if you roll with a weapon and you miss, and that weapon is linked you get A reroll of that missed shot.

 

some common sence has to come into play guys.

 

Mad Pat

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree that common sense does have to come in to play, and most people will see that. However there does need to be an added statement that each die can only be rerolled once. If not, there will be that gamer guy who will try and exploit the rule the way it is currently written.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
some common sence has to come into play guys.

Sorry Pat, but you're writing a rulebook, common sense has no bearing here.

 

In CAV 1, common sense said that an ECCM Pod's AoE of 18" was its radius, but that was wrong. Likewise, common sense would have said an AoE of 4" would have been measured from the point of impact, but that would have left out the 1" area that the attack targetted (thus making the AoE actually 4.5").

 

As Link is worded now, I could easily make the case that a model with Linked/2 could only re-roll 2 attacks period, over the course of the whole game. Afterall, it never mentions that the ability regenerates at the beginning of each turn. There's no mention of whether or not it works with Defensive Fire either, so I'd argue that it does work w/Def Fire, since Def Fire is resolved just like any other Direct Ranged Attack.

 

So, how about this?

 

Linked/#

If one of the Model's Direct Ranged Attack's misses, the die may be rerolled one time. This ability may be used # number of times per turn, but only once per Direct Ranged Attack that misses. The Linked SA may not be used with Defensive Fire.

 

Example

Bill's Falcon has 2 Direct Fire Attacks and the Linked/2 SA. Bill rolls 1d10 for his first attack and hits. He rolls again for his second attack and misses. Using the Linked SA, he rerolls the missed attack. This time luck is with him and he hits. If the attack had missed, Bill would not have been able to reroll it a second time, since each attack may only be rerolled one time, even though he had an instance of the Linked SA unused.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You guys are correct my Common sense comment was unwarranted for the thread, my Bad.

 

I will work on getting a clarification on the SA about how many times it can be used per weapon on the unit.

 

Mad Pat

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Pat, I wasn't trying to call you out or anything, just saying, as I have said from the get go on this thread, there are several ways to read into this SA under its current form and I think it needs more detail.

 

Chrome, I think that your re-write is a good clear up, if that indeed is how the Lord of CAV, Matt dictates this SA to be. I had not offered a re-write only cause I was still not completely clear as to how it should be.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I only did the write up to show that it could be reworded clearly and concisely, but still be kept short. Who knows if I interpreted it correctly. :poke:

 

Pat - I only meant what I said about common sense b/c I've played with too many people who seem to have none. Some people just loose all touch with reality when it comes to gaming, you know, the munchkins who want to try the craziest stuff b/c the rules don't specifically say that they can't. :rolleyes:

 

After my buddie used Convert or Die on me this weekend, the first thing I said was that I bet sometime over the course of the year after CAV 2 comes out, I'll be running a demo/tournament at some Con and an ex-BT player will use Convert or Die on a CAV and then ask if they can make it self-destruct to damage all of the other CAVs around it. :rock:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I will need to check with Matt but i do not belive we have excluded Linked from Defensive fire.

Ouch! That could hurt! It makes Linked look a whole lot better tho!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, you don't exclude hunter, PBG, or shredder from defensive fire, or did I miss that?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×