Sign in to follow this  
dargrin

02639: Manticore and a Camo Experiment

Manticore I am at a creative block on what to do with the base. The CAV I am trying out a tree or forest camo. These are really bad pics but it's late and I really don't feel like going back down stairs and retaking them.

As always comments/questions good/bad are encourged.

post-1360-1147923001.jpg

post-1360-1147923012.jpg

Nice work on the minis. One question on the manticore--do you want suggests as to what to do with the current base, or are you willing to cut it off and/or bury it? If you are willing to modify the base I would suggest more of a rocky base as if he were on an outcrop.

The forest camo it very cool. Unfortunately, it does too good of a job camoflauging--the various parts of the mini run together. From what I have seen (and I am by no means an expert) there is a fine line between having camo and being too camo'd where the details of the mini are lost. I humbly suggest having the cockpit black and at the very minimum darklining the various cracks to you can see where one part ends and another begins.

Another thing to consider for realism is that no matter how well camouflaged a vehicle, eventually you will get wear on the corners where the metal will show through. That might help to break up the "too good of a job". The mini's look great.

If the metal base of the manticore will fit onto a large plastic base, you could glue it to the base and use some green stuff to blend it in. Don't worry if your putty is rough- it's going to be ground. You can then glue sand onto the whole base for dirt, paint that all shades of brown, and use static grass or other foliage scenery bits. Woodland Scenics has a very nice product line for basing miniatures. This would be a fairly simple solution to give your manticore a more stable and scenic base.