Sign in to follow this  
Brooding Paladin

Need mini painting advice

A few months ago I started painting minis for my boyfriend who plays Dungeons and Dragons.  Well I have found paitning these pieces of metal to be addicting.  As his Christmas gift I am painting him up a large bunch of minis.  I read the stuff on the website about painting minis, but I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions outside of what is posted on the site that could be useful in detailing minis to a greater extent, and making them look more lifelike.  Thanks :)   :)

Hey Hey-

That's really cool that you're painting for your SO.  He better appreciate your efforts!!! :D

Anyway, I just started painting about 3 years ago.  And one thing that really made a big difference was learning to use washes and inks correctly.  For example, I like to wash my models in a light black wash after I've completed them.  It really gives them a unified look and brings out so many details!!!  

Thats's my two scents-

Stern

Gosh, there's a ton of websites out there with better ideas than I can offer myself.  Here's a link to my home page:  Brooding Paladin.  Check the miniatures links to be connected to some of the more helpful sites I've found.  Until I get better I'm limiting how much advice I give, but many of these folks are fantastic!

Have a great time painting (and BTW - what a great gift to give!)! :)

Welcome aboard!

My best piece of advice:Paint, Paint, then Paint some more.

The more work you do, the better you will get. My friend WARLORD1 has only been at it a few months, and shows improvement with every batch he brings over. I've been painting these things for 35 years, and I'm constantly picking up new techniques from the real artists on this forum.(I'm really a Paint and Play type.) Don't be afraid to experiment, and ask honest appraisal.

Good luck, hope to see some of your work soon.

Gosh, there's a ton of websites out there with better ideas than I can offer myself