Jump to content


Photo

Reaper's Official Position on Paint and Proxy


  • Please log in to reply
76 replies to this topic

#16 ecs05norway

ecs05norway

    Godlike

  • Members
  • 1188 posts

Posted 22 January 2007 - 09:30 PM

*shoots wildger* You asked for it. ::P:

Please, oh please, no pre-painteds! I'd rather see nekkid metal on the table... :lol:

~v


That would be where this rule comes into effect:

2) Substitute models from outside manufacturers are not acceptable and are not allowed for use in any official event.


Which means I can never play Darkspawn again... sigh.
-- "Here is the price of freedom: Your every drop of courage, ounce of pain, pint of blood. Paid in advance." -- Andromeda

#17 rgtriplec

rgtriplec

    Godlike

  • Members
  • 1921 posts

Posted 23 January 2007 - 12:53 AM

1) Official models that are unpainted, primed, or painted a single color are acceptable and allowed for use in any official event.
2) Substitute models from outside manufacturers are not acceptable and are not allowed for use in any official event.
3) Generic substitutions from any Reaper lines are allowed for use as Non-Unique models in any official event.
4) A particular generic substitute model type can only be used to represent a single type of model and/or data card in any official event.
5) A generic substitute model must be on the same size base the model it is substituting for would be on in any official event.


You might want to put the conversion rules from the August Errata with these, as some people may take the new rules to mean they can't convert and be legal.
It's Dwarfs not Dwarves. 1500+ Warlord Armies: Dwarfs, Elves, Mercs, Reven, Goblins, Lupines, Sisters, "To be is to do"-Socrates "To do is to be"-Sartre "Do Be Do Be Do"-Sinatra "De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da" - Sting "Scooby Dooby Do"-Scooby Do "Yaba Daba Doo"-Fred Flintstone

#18 Humansquish

Humansquish

    Rauthuros

  • Members
  • 1964 posts

Posted 26 March 2007 - 03:19 PM

If I had a Vysa Sergeant converted with wings making her distinctly different from my other Vysas would it be allowed to proxy for a Incubus Warrior?
"The battle between Minis I Want and Money That Needs Not To Be Spent is eternal, and wearies the soul."--Nanite

"you don't buy miniatures to paint, rather you buy miniatures to daydream about painting and that you like to daydream a lot!" Ed Pugh

#19 Reaperbryan

Reaperbryan

    Living Miniature

  • Super Administrators
  • 10494 posts

Posted 26 March 2007 - 05:01 PM

If I had a Vysa Sergeant converted with wings making her distinctly different from my other Vysas would it be allowed to proxy for a Incubus Warrior?

In the end it would be up to your tournament/game judge/coordinator whether that was sportsmanlike enough to not be intentionally confusing. As Black Lightning Demo Team Admin, I would say its probably ok, but check with your local rep before assuming it would be. As always, the final result may not be as distinct as your description sounds, so I would hold judgement until I saw the final product.

bryan@reapermini.com

 

This post is 100% organic. No Artifical Spellcheck or Grammar Check was used in the manufacturing of this post. No Zombies were harmed in the making of this post.

 

~His High Gameliness, the Most Reverend and Inscrutable, Space Pope Bryanzilla I


#20 Impaler

Impaler

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 26 March 2007 - 09:46 PM

*raises hand and jumps wildly* ooohhh meme..me new guy here has a question!!! ok.... ummm....
What about using a proxy for a figure who already has an official card but no figure as of yet? *caugh*Rauthuros*caugh*

Seriously though... would it be allowed for some special case like this in an official event? (such as "well, that figure hasn't been cast by Reaper, but it does have a card... and he did use a Reaper figure as a proxy")

If it's a dumb question... psh.. I'm a noob and I'll go with that :wacko:
Pain? How dare you use that word with me!... What you think of as pain is a shadow. Pain has a face. Allow me to show it to you. Gentlemen, I... Am... Pain! ~Pinhead

#21 ladystorm

ladystorm

    Reaper Mom

  • Super Administrators
  • 7486 posts

Posted 27 March 2007 - 06:13 AM

What about using a proxy for a figure who already has an official card but no figure as of yet?


completely acceptable as long as other guidelines in the proxy rule are met.

what you can't do for an official game is toss out another company's minis and start telling us what they are representing. pick one of our own and put it out there.

we have even allowed scratch built proxies for unreleased models. you sculpted it and got to use it. we're pretty reasonable.

but as always it is up to the event organizer.

Efficiency is intelligent laziness.


#22 shakhak

shakhak

    Godlike

  • Bones Supporter
  • 3076 posts

Posted 13 April 2007 - 11:28 AM

Is there any limitation for proxy based on the rank or unique status of the model?

Can I proxy a warlord? Witch Queen is cool, but so is the queen of Ghouls in the DHL line.

Can I proxy the Angel? That avatar of Aurielious is looking sweet, bu the angel is unique.

A cool RTS from one of the designers of Warlord 2.0 Cairn

CustomKorborlas64.jpgReptus.gifDarkspawn.gif


#23 Stubbdog

Stubbdog

    Obssessive Over-Analyzer

  • Bones Supporter
  • 6979 posts

Posted 13 April 2007 - 01:03 PM

Read rule #3 - can only use it for non-unique models.

Admittedly, that is the one rule that I am not as fond of cuase most of the time the model that I want to proxy for is the unique ones. But, I am just happy that I have the ability at all.

#24 shakhak

shakhak

    Godlike

  • Bones Supporter
  • 3076 posts

Posted 13 April 2007 - 01:09 PM

Read rule #3 - can only use it for non-unique models.

Admittedly, that is the one rule that I am not as fond of cuase most of the time the model that I want to proxy for is the unique ones. But, I am just happy that I have the ability at all.

Thanks for pointing that out Stubb, I looked over those like 3 times before I asked.

A cool RTS from one of the designers of Warlord 2.0 Cairn

CustomKorborlas64.jpgReptus.gifDarkspawn.gif


#25 Qwyksilver

Qwyksilver

    Tubby Guinness Fairy

  • Moderator
  • 15128 posts

Posted 13 April 2007 - 01:14 PM

However, remember that you can convert. So for instance, leave the Witch Queen as your base, but cut and paste portions of the Ghoul Queen you really dig.

Same with the Guardian Angel and the Avatar of Aurelius/Deva Angel. Of course, another alternative, would be to paint one of the alternates up and use it as a Totem of Battle.

And yeah, I have to agree with Stubb, I wish we could proxy for Uniques too, but I can understand the desire to require at least SOME original Warlord Models.

Sacrificing minions: is there any problem it CAN'T solve?

- Lord Xykon, OotS #192

Beowulf ll. 1538-1543
... Pay no heed to proud thoughts, famous champion. Now the flowering of your strength is but for a while. After a while, the time will suddenly come that disease or the sword's edge will cut off your power. Either fire's grasp or flood's surge or blade's bite or spear's flight. Or vicious age, or the flash of your eyes will gutter and burn out! It will be all at once, great campaigner, that death will overpower you.

 

It's terrifying!  Without enough caffeine your body undergoes these hours of partial paralysis and hallucinations! :shudder:

- Argentee


Black Lightning: MA010.


#26 Outkast Samurai

Outkast Samurai

    Metal Daimyo

  • Black Lightning
  • 2055 posts

Posted 13 April 2007 - 01:16 PM

Yeah we tease Castlebuilder that his Khulsanthus isn't a legal proxy for the Bone Horror. But considering how ugly the Bone Horror is and how cool Khulsanthus looks you can't argue with that.
Always do right. This will gratify some people and astonish the rest.
Mark Twain
BL:OH018

#27 Qwyksilver

Qwyksilver

    Tubby Guinness Fairy

  • Moderator
  • 15128 posts

Posted 13 April 2007 - 01:27 PM

Proxy rules are also only in effect for Official Reaper™ events such as Reaper Con and Gen Con

For friendly games, so long as both people are in agreement, have a blast, and proxy away.
At local events, it's up to the event coordinator, and it's always a good idea to ask beforehand.

Prime example: This past weekend at a local tourney, I was playing Grand Reven in which Gaaguk is unique. I forgot the tray he was in and had to proxy him, and proxied Narg. The event coordinator was fine with this, and I made it a point to explain it to every person I faced and made sure they were also okay with the swap out. There were no problems. If there was, I would have had to find a quick way to swap it out and replace it with 120 odd points (he had equipment too).

Sacrificing minions: is there any problem it CAN'T solve?

- Lord Xykon, OotS #192

Beowulf ll. 1538-1543
... Pay no heed to proud thoughts, famous champion. Now the flowering of your strength is but for a while. After a while, the time will suddenly come that disease or the sword's edge will cut off your power. Either fire's grasp or flood's surge or blade's bite or spear's flight. Or vicious age, or the flash of your eyes will gutter and burn out! It will be all at once, great campaigner, that death will overpower you.

 

It's terrifying!  Without enough caffeine your body undergoes these hours of partial paralysis and hallucinations! :shudder:

- Argentee


Black Lightning: MA010.


#28 matsumoto

matsumoto

    Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 952 posts

Posted 08 June 2007 - 09:43 PM

3) Generic substitutions from any Reaper lines are allowed for use as Non-Unique models in any official event.
4) A particular generic substitute model type can only be used to represent a single type of model and/or data card in any official event.


whoa-kay.

so, let us hypothesize i have Lupine Ragers, and i use. like, 4 different DHL werewolves to represent them...have i violated rule numbah 4??

can i get diverse models to represent one type of model, aka, having the ability to have 10 sculpts of overlord warrior as opposed to just 3?

for one who likes to mix it up....artistically as well....

...holding off my forum Divinity for as long as humanly possible...seriously.

 

I NOW HAVE THE LOST MOTO!!!! Bwahahahaaaaa!!!!

MINIATURES WANTED!!!!!!
REAPER: EXALTED: Crimson Banner Executioner, Lyta.
RACKHAM: WOLFEN: Onyx the Prowler


#29 spiritual_exorcist

spiritual_exorcist

    Godlike

  • Members
  • 3547 posts

Posted 08 June 2007 - 10:28 PM

No, rules 4 is put into place so that you don't use the same generic model to represent different datacards, not to prevent you from proxying in multiple models as the same type of grunt.

You couldn't use Dark Heaven Dwarf A as both a Dwarf Warrior, and a Dwarf Swift Axe (assuming you had 2 of them), but it's ok to use Dwarf A, and Dwarf B both as Dwarf Warriors.
There's nothing I wouldn't do to win. But I never hurt anyone for any reason other than sticking a dog's skull on a stake.

#30 matsumoto

matsumoto

    Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 952 posts

Posted 11 June 2007 - 10:08 AM

YESSSS!!!!!! *does arm pump*

...holding off my forum Divinity for as long as humanly possible...seriously.

 

I NOW HAVE THE LOST MOTO!!!! Bwahahahaaaaa!!!!

MINIATURES WANTED!!!!!!
REAPER: EXALTED: Crimson Banner Executioner, Lyta.
RACKHAM: WOLFEN: Onyx the Prowler





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users