Gus Landt

Clarifications & Errata

81 posts in this topic

Your first mistake was assuming. You know what that leads too.... :;):

 

The very fact that the statement appears in the section dedicated to the Shoot action defines that Defensive Shots only apply against Shoot actions, and nothing else. Each segment of combat actions have specific rules and order of operations that apply to them; there is a great amount of overlap, but that further reinforces that something that only appears on one section does not apply to the others. Moreover, note that for Fight and Shoot actions, the defensive combat actions have specific names (Defensive Strike and Defensive Shot, respectively), and are resolved differently. Finally, the steps of the Spellcast action list no Defensive action, other than Counterspell.

 

~v

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 95 - Bounty Doctrine only applies to datacards and equipment found in the Lands of Taltos core rulebook (the book that has this doctrine in it). This doctrine cannot use datacards or equipment found in other Warlord books.

 

I am now officially questioning this decision. I feel it artificially limits the Mercenaries. Why shouldn't they be able to pull any datacard or non-unique magic item from the Savage North? Who's to say that they aren't able to convince some Frost Giants to work for Orba for a while? I think this errata needs to be expunged from the record!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it was based on the fact that any future books, they didnt want to have to go back and also playtest that doctrine again each time for every new faction. But... in your house, you can easily house rule that the mercs temporarily paid off the clerk at the door and allow them inside.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it was based on the fact that any future books, they didnt want to have to go back and also playtest that doctrine again each time for every new faction. But... in your house, you can easily house rule that the mercs temporarily paid off the clerk at the door and allow them inside.

 

Since you are only getting one datacard and one item, it is not seen as a big deal around here. Now, if Freelance were still around, oh buddy... :devil:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it was done as a preventative measure to keep future expansions from becoming a power creep issue. Mercs are already the future kings of all Taltos. Giving them some weapon from expansion book eight, Savage Florida, that might turn them into, dare we say, broken, is something too horrible not to take action against now.

But still....EXPUNGE!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Anyone can explain if Damage reduction counts towards Magic to? If so the Elf Tree is crazy strong with damage reduction/2.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, Damage Reduction counts towards Magic. Just remember that damage reduction only applies to direct damage from spells. Model States still apply, and damage caused by Model States ignore damage reduction (except, of course, Mossbeard is a Construct, so he ignores most negative Model States).

 

And yes, Mossbeard is strong, but no stronger than many of the other Damage Reduction/2 models.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Anyone can explain if Damage reduction counts towards Magic to? If so the Elf Tree is crazy strong with damage reduction/2.

 

It is exactly as "crazy strong" as a 155 point model should be. I have used it tactically to terrorize an opponent that was unprepared to deal with it, and I have mopped it off the map in a single activation when an opponent overestimated how powerful it was.

 

~v

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok, thanks. So a well placed Fireball next to him can count as hit on him? I still kill him but he takes all my skeeters out way to fast. It just took my Warlord Varaug to wipe the tree off the board.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, the wound caused by a Fireball does count against DR, and the Burning condition would apply to cause him to lose an action (by performing the stop/drop/roll to put out the flames) if he survives to his activation. Combine arms is an excellent way to bring down models with DR, esepcially ranged attacks. Models with DR generally do not have high DVs (say, compared to a Warlord), so piling on a number of hits to bring the DR down and then finish them off is the goal.

 

~v

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sounds good. Archers have no effect on Mossbeard the treeman. He has Deflect 2, so need 9-10s with archers. Mobbing Melee is only main thing ive seen, an now FB since my Warlord group wasnt sure of if it works.

 

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If a leader dies does his troop take discipline checks? Pretty sure that's a 1st edition rule, not 2nd edition. I can't find it in the book.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My bone horror used his two activations to charge an orc assassin. No damage was done since I couldn't attack. No actions left. The next card was the enemy, he attacked my bone horror with 3 orcs. I survived and used one defense strike on an orc and the other on the orc assassin, a solo. My opponent said he gets defense strikes with the orc assassin. His logic was defense strikes can force defense strikes. I said he doesn't, since he hadn't activated the orc assassin yet that turn. Who's right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now