Shakandara 2247 Report post Posted March 12, 2012 No, defensive strikes do no provoke defensive strikes in return. It doesn't matter if he hasn't activated the assassin yet. If he engages you with another troop, all models in base-to-base are fair game for your defensive strikes (unless a SA prevents this from happening). ~v Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kiyoku 0 Report post Posted March 13, 2012 Question about Summon. I know there is a spell for Summon an those monsters don't have PT value. But like of my sister of the blade army. I got the choice to use Angel of Vengeance as a summon do I gotta still count her PT value or is it like normal summon spell? An is it still the same SP needed to bring her out? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Stubbdog 72 Report post Posted March 13, 2012 Forgive me, I don't know what PT stands for. But, summoning is a special ability not a spell, other than a couple of very specific ones like the spell in the Death tome of Summon Spectral Minions. In the case of any model with the "Summoned" special ability, it simply means that this model does not have to be deployed at the beginning of the game. You can instead elect to wait and have it enter the game at a later time by being summoned by the model type listed by the Special Ability. For the Sisterhood Angel of Vengeance, it is Summoned (Spellcaster). So, you would need to have a spellcaster inyour army list and it would have to use an action to summon the model. No roll is necessary. If the enemy killed your spellcaster before you summoned the Angel, and you have no moer spellcasters, then shame on you for not summoning earlier and the Angel would be stuck out of the game. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Shakandara 2247 Report post Posted March 13, 2012 PT = point. Otherwise, yes, Jason just covered it all. Do not confuse the Summon SA with the spell Summon Spectral Minions. Also, versus pointed out that I did not address his leader question. No, there is no penalty for losing a leader in 2nd edition (other than the loss of a Warlord's WA if you brought one). Yes, that was a first edition rule that was not brought over to 2nd edition. ~v Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kiyoku 0 Report post Posted March 14, 2012 Ok thanks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kiyoku 0 Report post Posted March 17, 2012 I hate to keep asking many questions, but with blowthrough. I know with trample the enemy get defensive strikes because it says it in the long paragraph. But in blowthrough it doesnt say anything bout Defensive Strikes can be done, so if I use blowthrough can they attack back? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
JeffyBaby 185 Report post Posted March 17, 2012 Blowthrough is a Ranged Attack Special Ability, so a better question would be if affected models get to make Defensive Shots. Of course, that could be what you meant all along and we're just mixing words. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kiyoku 0 Report post Posted March 17, 2012 Ok thanks im mixing with old blowthrough that used to be like trample.. I think lol been long time since G1 Warlord. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MiniCannuck 1775 Report post Posted March 17, 2012 Morning (at least it is when I'm writing this). A quick question. Does the displace ability let you ignore 1 attack from a figure with a successful discipline check or all attacks from one model? Thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Don Rodolfo Graziani 37 Report post Posted March 17, 2012 It allows you to ignore the damage from one attack with a successful Discipline check. That's important because if a model gets a cleave on one swing but not another (for 3 pts of damage) you can try to displace the cleave attack and, if successful, just take 1pt of damage (having displaced the cleave swing entirely). Very brutal power at times. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Shakandara 2247 Report post Posted March 17, 2012 Blowthrough and Swingthrough are more alike than either of those and Trample. Blowthrough is almost exactly identical to its old version. Yes, models targetted by Blowthrough get Defensive Shots if they have the ability to do so. Blowthrough is a SA that applies to a ranged combat Shoot action, therefore all resolution steps of the Shoot action apply. Not to be a jerk about this, but a fair number of the questions that crop up in here can be answered by spending a little time carefully reviewing the datacard explanation, and the information on the resolution of the three types of combat actions. The steps for attack resolution are laid out in a specific order and cover the majority of SA interactions; those that aren't are generally covered by the specific SA descriptions themselves. Spend a little time reviewing those 6-8 pages, and you will know what to do without looking in 99% of situations that arise in the game. ~v Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MiniCannuck 1775 Report post Posted March 18, 2012 It allows you to ignore the damage from one attack with a successful Discipline check. That's important because if a model gets a cleave on one swing but not another (for 3 pts of damage) you can try to displace the cleave attack and, if successful, just take 1pt of damage (having displaced the cleave swing entirely). Very brutal power at times. Thanks Don. That's how we played it. Yes it is very brutal, especially against my frost giants with their multi wound attacks. The displaced kitty is pretty scary! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MiniCannuck 1775 Report post Posted March 24, 2012 A couple of questions about luck stones. How much do they cost? 3 or 5 (the books are different) Can you buy more than one for an army? The book says it's unique but I see a lot of lists that have more than one. I tried doing a search on luck stones in the forum with no luck(pun intended). Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Don Rodolfo Graziani 37 Report post Posted March 24, 2012 Luck stones cost 3 pts but are unique. The Sisterhood of the Blade has a faction ability to take more (Mercs at Heart). Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Shakandara 2247 Report post Posted March 24, 2012 I'd be interested to know where you saw it listed as anything other than 3 points. I have first printings of both the Warlord 2 core and Savage North books; in both books, the Luck Stone is listed as UNIQUE and a point cost of 3 points (p52 and p37, respectively). And where are you seeing "lots of lists that have more than one"? As DRG mentioned, only the Sisterhood has the ability to gain extra Luck Stones, and those they don't have to pay for. Also, you can improve the accuracy of your search by using the Advanced Search options to search for posts that contain all words, and limit it to just the Warlord forums. ~v Share this post Link to post Share on other sites