Gus Landt

Clarifications & Errata

85 posts in this topic

I have a question about how Woods work in the game. Page 10 of the 'Savage North' book has a table titled 'Terrain Sizes'.

 

'Size 1' it lists 'less than 2" depth of light woods' and;

 

'Size 2' lists 'less than 1" depth of heavy woods'.

 

Does this mean woods are all Size 3 and drop down in size depending on how far from the edge you are?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmm I hadn't considered that interpretation of how woods might work.

 

My approach was that if you had more than 2" of light woods it was Size 2, so a 50mm base creature could never hide in light woods.

 

Then a similar thing would happen in dense woods allowing 50mm based models to hide behind dense woods at least as big as their base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does this mean woods are all Size 3 and drop down in size depending on how far from the edge you are?

 

No. Remember, this table is just a guideline for establishing the attributes of terrain; your forest on the table could be any height desired, regardless of the type of woods. However, this table is suggesting that if you have a small stand of woods, that you should consider assigning them relatively small size values (after all, consider that 1" of heavy woods is no bigger in table space that a Standard base model). It is not meant to indicate that woods change height at their edges. While you certain could use that concept, it could make calculating cover for a model during gameplay a bit cumbersome. As long as you and your opponent agree to designations for the terrain, there shouldn't be an issue.

 

~v

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So how do trees relate in terms of cover? I know that more than 4 in of light woods blocks LOS, but what if you're under 4 in?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So if I have a size 1 unit is in light woods less than 4 in from the edge it would receive the cover bonus. What if that unit targets a unit outside of the woods?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As I understand it from page 33 of 2e, you may use cover if you're within 2" of it. So for your example, the shooter is inside the woods but the target is outside. The target has nothing within 2" to declare as cover, so he does not get the benefit. If the woods are not thick enough to block LOS, then they don't affect the shot. Getting cover from them is an act on the target model's part.

 

Keep in mind, I'm new to this. I've been studying up in expectation of these kinds of questions from my gaming group.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I noticed last weekend when I was building my army using the army builder on the Reaper site, that there is an error in the Koborlas equipment list. It has a piece of equipment called Ironhide, but in the Savage North book it's Necklace of Worm Teeth.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The army builder is correct; the SN book is a misprint. The Necklace of Worm Teeth is a BSG item. Ironhide is a piece of Koborlas equipment.

 

~v

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No problem; this was noticed right after the book hit the shelves. Not sure why it was never added to the errata page on reapergames.com.

 

~v

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you have a 'Monster' unit choice that has 'Band' as an ability how does it work in the game for:

 

- List building

- Deployment

- Cards in your deck for activation

 

Thanks

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So presumably you are talking about either Gargoyles or Owlbears, as those are the only two datacards that meet both of those qualifications. The Band SA description answers all of your questions:

 

"Band - This SA signifies that an entire Troop of 3 - 6 of this model may be fielded together without a Leader. The Troop cannot have any other models in it. This Troop cannot be absorbed into another Troop via the Regroup Action. The Troop must begin play with a minimum of three models in it, and can have a maximum of 6 models in it. A player may build as many Band-based Troops as he has models with the Band SA, but no data card may be in more than one Banded Troop. Models with this SA may also be fielded in their normal role in addition to the Band."

 

~v

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So presumably you are talking about either Gargoyles or Owlbears, as those are the only two datacards that meet both of those qualifications. The Band SA description answers all of your questions:

 

"Band - This SA signifies that an entire Troop of 3 - 6 of this model may be fielded together without a Leader. The Troop cannot have any other models in it. This Troop cannot be absorbed into another Troop via the Regroup Action. The Troop must begin play with a minimum of three models in it, and can have a maximum of 6 models in it. A player may build as many Band-based Troops as he has models with the Band SA, but no data card may be in more than one Banded Troop. Models with this SA may also be fielded in their normal role in addition to the Band."

 

~v

I was just double checking that you did not need at least three Leader choices in the army to field the minimum of three Owlbears (Monsters type with build requirements of one per Leader in your army) that will then be placed into a Band? We play as you have quoted but just wanted to make sure. ^_^

Edited by Ivoryskull

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Monster is a subtype of Solo; the rule you are referring to does not apply to just the Monster subtype, but rather specifically to all Solos (see pages 24 and 25 of the Warlord 2 core book). This is an important distinction.  The moment you take advantage of Band, the model ceases to become a Solo, and thus the Leader-to-Solo ratio is inapplicable as far as the models in that troop are concerned. If, however, you were also to field some Owlbears as Solos (which you can do), those would be bound by the Leader-to-Solo ratio. Further, while your Band of Owlbears is a Troop, it is not a Leader-led-Troop, and therefore would not count as part of the ratio. Here's an example of a legit list:

 

Tembrithil - 1000 points

Troop 1
Chiral, Centaur
Centaur Warrior x 6
Centaur Archer x 2

Troop 2
Ilmarin Woodstride
Oakhearth Sentinel x 3
Oakhearth Warden x 2

Troop 3
Owlbear x 3

Troop 4
Owlbear

Troop 5
Owlbear

 

This, however, would not be:

Tembrithil - 998 points

Troop 1
Chiral, Centaur
Thistlewing, Sylph
Centaur Warrior x 6

Troop 2
Saproling Warrior x 6

Troop 3
Owlbear x 6

Troop 4
Owlbear

Troop 5
Owlbear

 

There are 3 Troops and 2 Solos in both lists, but the second list has only 1 Leader-led troop; the other two are both Bands. This makes the second Owlbear fielded as a Solo illegal in the list.

 

I hope this helps clear things up.

 

~v

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now