Jump to content


Photo

Clarifications & Errata


  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#31 Shakandara

Shakandara

    God of All Things Cheesecake

  • Black Lightning
  • 5880 posts

Posted 12 March 2012 - 05:17 PM

No, defensive strikes do no provoke defensive strikes in return. It doesn't matter if he hasn't activated the assassin yet. If he engages you with another troop, all models in base-to-base are fair game for your defensive strikes (unless a SA prevents this from happening).

~v

Shakandara.com

 

"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." - Albert Einstein


#32 Kiyoku

Kiyoku

    Mostly Harmless

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 12 March 2012 - 06:39 PM

Question about Summon. I know there is a spell for Summon an those monsters don't have PT value. But like of my sister of the blade army. I got the choice to use Angel of Vengeance as a summon do I gotta still count her PT value or is it like normal summon spell? An is it still the same SP needed to bring her out?

#33 Stubbdog

Stubbdog

    Obssessive Over-Analyzer

  • Bones Supporter
  • 6979 posts

Posted 12 March 2012 - 08:52 PM

Forgive me, I don't know what PT stands for. But, summoning is a special ability not a spell, other than a couple of very specific ones like the spell in the Death tome of Summon Spectral Minions.

In the case of any model with the "Summoned" special ability, it simply means that this model does not have to be deployed at the beginning of the game. You can instead elect to wait and have it enter the game at a later time by being summoned by the model type listed by the Special Ability. For the Sisterhood Angel of Vengeance, it is Summoned (Spellcaster). So, you would need to have a spellcaster inyour army list and it would have to use an action to summon the model. No roll is necessary. If the enemy killed your spellcaster before you summoned the Angel, and you have no moer spellcasters, then shame on you for not summoning earlier and the Angel would be stuck out of the game.

#34 Shakandara

Shakandara

    God of All Things Cheesecake

  • Black Lightning
  • 5880 posts

Posted 12 March 2012 - 09:57 PM

PT = point. Otherwise, yes, Jason just covered it all. Do not confuse the Summon SA with the spell Summon Spectral Minions.

Also, versus pointed out that I did not address his leader question. No, there is no penalty for losing a leader in 2nd edition (other than the loss of a Warlord's WA if you brought one). Yes, that was a first edition rule that was not brought over to 2nd edition.

~v

Shakandara.com

 

"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." - Albert Einstein


#35 Kiyoku

Kiyoku

    Mostly Harmless

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 09:39 AM

Ok thanks.

#36 Kiyoku

Kiyoku

    Mostly Harmless

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 16 March 2012 - 07:23 PM

I hate to keep asking many questions, but with blowthrough. I know with trample the enemy get defensive strikes because it says it in the long paragraph. But in blowthrough it doesnt say anything bout Defensive Strikes can be done, so if I use blowthrough can they attack back?

#37 JeffyBaby

JeffyBaby

    Instigator

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts

Posted 16 March 2012 - 08:30 PM

Blowthrough is a Ranged Attack Special Ability, so a better question would be if affected models get to make Defensive Shots.

Of course, that could be what you meant all along and we're just mixing words.

#38 Kiyoku

Kiyoku

    Mostly Harmless

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 16 March 2012 - 08:44 PM

Ok thanks im mixing with old blowthrough that used to be like trample.. I think lol been long time since G1 Warlord.

#39 MiniCannuck

MiniCannuck

    Godlike

  • Bones Supporter
  • 1067 posts

Posted 17 March 2012 - 05:17 AM

Morning (at least it is when I'm writing this).

A quick question. Does the displace ability let you ignore 1 attack from a figure with a successful discipline check or all attacks from one model?

Thanks

#40 Don Rodolfo Graziani

Don Rodolfo Graziani

    Uber-Mensch

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 541 posts

Posted 17 March 2012 - 07:55 AM

It allows you to ignore the damage from one attack with a successful Discipline check. That's important because if a model gets a cleave on one swing but not another (for 3 pts of damage) you can try to displace the cleave attack and, if successful, just take 1pt of damage (having displaced the cleave swing entirely). Very brutal power at times. :devil:
There are things about me you wouldn't understand.....
things you....couldn't....understand......
things you....shouldn't......understand.....
I'm a loner, Dottie......a rebel!

Posted Image

#41 Shakandara

Shakandara

    God of All Things Cheesecake

  • Black Lightning
  • 5880 posts

Posted 17 March 2012 - 01:20 PM

Blowthrough and Swingthrough are more alike than either of those and Trample. Blowthrough is almost exactly identical to its old version. Yes, models targetted by Blowthrough get Defensive Shots if they have the ability to do so. Blowthrough is a SA that applies to a ranged combat Shoot action, therefore all resolution steps of the Shoot action apply.

Not to be a jerk about this, but a fair number of the questions that crop up in here can be answered by spending a little time carefully reviewing the datacard explanation, and the information on the resolution of the three types of combat actions. The steps for attack resolution are laid out in a specific order and cover the majority of SA interactions; those that aren't are generally covered by the specific SA descriptions themselves. Spend a little time reviewing those 6-8 pages, and you will know what to do without looking in 99% of situations that arise in the game.

~v

Shakandara.com

 

"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." - Albert Einstein


#42 MiniCannuck

MiniCannuck

    Godlike

  • Bones Supporter
  • 1067 posts

Posted 18 March 2012 - 06:16 AM

It allows you to ignore the damage from one attack with a successful Discipline check. That's important because if a model gets a cleave on one swing but not another (for 3 pts of damage) you can try to displace the cleave attack and, if successful, just take 1pt of damage (having displaced the cleave swing entirely). Very brutal power at times. :devil:


Thanks Don. That's how we played it. Yes it is very brutal, especially against my frost giants with their multi wound attacks.

The displaced kitty is pretty scary!

#43 MiniCannuck

MiniCannuck

    Godlike

  • Bones Supporter
  • 1067 posts

Posted 24 March 2012 - 08:25 AM

A couple of questions about luck stones.

How much do they cost? 3 or 5 (the books are different)

Can you buy more than one for an army? The book says it's unique but I see a lot of lists that have more than one.

I tried doing a search on luck stones in the forum with no luck(pun intended).

#44 Don Rodolfo Graziani

Don Rodolfo Graziani

    Uber-Mensch

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 541 posts

Posted 24 March 2012 - 09:38 AM

Luck stones cost 3 pts but are unique. The Sisterhood of the Blade has a faction ability to take more (Mercs at Heart).
There are things about me you wouldn't understand.....
things you....couldn't....understand......
things you....shouldn't......understand.....
I'm a loner, Dottie......a rebel!

Posted Image

#45 Shakandara

Shakandara

    God of All Things Cheesecake

  • Black Lightning
  • 5880 posts

Posted 24 March 2012 - 04:28 PM

I'd be interested to know where you saw it listed as anything other than 3 points. I have first printings of both the Warlord 2 core and Savage North books; in both books, the Luck Stone is listed as UNIQUE and a point cost of 3 points (p52 and p37, respectively). And where are you seeing "lots of lists that have more than one"? As DRG mentioned, only the Sisterhood has the ability to gain extra Luck Stones, and those they don't have to pay for.

Also, you can improve the accuracy of your search by using the Advanced Search options to search for posts that contain all words, and limit it to just the Warlord forums.

~v

Shakandara.com

 

"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." - Albert Einstein





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users