TaleSpinner

Beholder WIP

Well, after months of preparation and playing with putty, tool, and tutorials, I am finally taking the dive into sculpting (hence the reason I haven't had any new paintings up lately). I decided to do something with atypical anatomy for my first figure so that I can worry more about getting the details right than whether or not I've mastered the proportions of human/animal anatomy correctly. I am studying anatomy from an art perspective, but am not quite ready to dive into a person, yet...

So, I love beholders and have decided to do my own. I thought I'd share this journey with you here, because I like to spread the pain around.:rolleyes: Actually, I'm hoping to get good feed back as to what I am doing right and wrong.

So, I came up with the following concept sketch. The beholder is floating by a stalagmite and is just brushing up against it.

post-140-12807537019535_thumb.jpg

I've assembled my armature already and should have pictures of that in a few days, as time permits.

Let me know what you think.

Thanks,

Andy

• Like 4

OK, so here is the armature, ready for me to start adding putty:

post-140-12807909180039.jpg

I made it by drilling 10 small holes, evenly spaced, around the rim of a worn-out penny. I also drilled a larger hole in the center. The beholder will be about 32mm in diameter. The penny is just under 3/4 of that. I soldered 10 brass wires, 1-1/2 inches long each, into the holes of the penny (note that soldering on a penny is not easy). I then bent to shape and soldered the main support rod into the center of the penny. This rod will eventually be the center of the stalagmite.

Next, I'll start building up the underpinning for the skeletal structure.

Comments welcome,

Andy

• Like 3

It will be cool to see this shape up. On the artwork the eye stalks seem short to me. Will they be longer on the actual miniature?