Sign in to follow this  
JackMann

Citadel Paint Set (Dark Angels Space Marines)

This is my first attempt at painting miniatures. Worker at the FLGS (Hat's in Tucson) talked me into trying this paint set as something fairly simple, with lots of flat surface and not too many fiddly details or textures. I've definitely got a long way to go still, but I liked the way they came out, overall.

I ended up painting three of the five. I was painting in the hobby shop, and, having just gotten back to the states, I didn't want to be too late getting home. The other two are in the background. I'll eventually get to them, hopefully after my skills have improved, and I can compare them with the first three.

Marinestop.jpg

Here's a top view, giving a look at the box they came in, along with the two in the back.

MarinesFront.jpg

Here's a front view. The bit of muck on the Marine on the left's forehead is apparently supposed to be wreath-like, signifying he's in charge. Obviously, I did not do well on that detail.

MarinesBack.jpg

About face! I like the way the skulls came out.

MarinesLeft.jpg

Face right! The sword-sigil things on their pauldrons had... mixed results. I need to work on thinning out the paint, and not picking up so much water on the brush.

MarinesRight.jpg

Face left! Those are supposed to be arrows. Yeah, I wouldn't have guessed from the paintwork either.

Overall, better than I expected them to turn out, though I need to work a lot harder on the details.

Um. You missed some of the armor plates on their thighs and arms. . . .