• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 entropiccanuck

entropiccanuck

• Bones Supporter
  • 1 posts

Posted 07 September 2012 - 05:27 PM

Hi,
I'm new to minis and painting, and excited by this opportunity. But, I'm wondering, how many paint sets like from the kickstarter would it take to paint 1 Vampire level worth of minis? The only paints I've bought previously were based on gallons and square feet of wall, so I don't have much to go on for mini scale. I expect the answer is pretty variable, but I figure someone would be able to tell me if the answer is closer to 2-3 than 5-6, or vice versa. Thanks.

#2 Niranth

Niranth

Uber-Mensch

• Bones Supporter
  • 578 posts

Posted 07 September 2012 - 05:31 PM

For most of the paints in the sets, just one will do ya. It will be a personal preference that will decide what, if any, are gone before the minis are painted. Normally, I use a drop or two of a color when painting up to three minis in a set. YMMV
Bones KickStarter Links: http://www.reapermin...kstarter-links/

#3 Adrift

Adrift

Godlike

• Bones Supporter
  • 2373 posts

Posted 07 September 2012 - 05:33 PM

I have painted more than 75 miniatures with my initial paint investment. The only colors I've needed to replace are white, black, and two shades of brown.
  • psyberwolfe1 likes this

#4 GregR

GregR

Instigator

• Bones Supporter
  • 200 posts

Posted 07 September 2012 - 06:53 PM

Paints last so long, most of mine are from a *used* lot from eBay. Guy had them for ~4 years of his hobby painting, I bought them and I've had them for ~3 years of my painting. I'd guess 90% of your paint ends up drying on the palette or a wipe cloth. If you get a wet palette the paint will stay usable for several days. I find it also helps to be working on more than one model at a time if they're going to share similar colors.
  • badocter and ced1106 like this

#5 badocter

badocter

Uber-Mensch

• Bones Supporter
  • 513 posts

Posted 07 September 2012 - 07:25 PM