• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Canuck

Canuck

Mostly Harmless

• Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 11 September 2012 - 09:43 AM

I am a novice mini painter and have been reading up on painting techniques in anticipation for the Bones arrival. I will be using the Reaper MSP on the Bones minis.

I am unsure about the differences between matte medium vs flow improvers. It seems they do roughly the same job thinning paints, with the matte medium providing some extra color protection.

Is Matte medium solely used for dark shading washes and not so much a general thinning solution? Would/could you also add a retarder to it?

What I have gotten so far is generally you want to thin most paints depending on the type of coating that you are applying and to do this you make a solution of 1/3 retarder, 1/3 flow improver, 1/3 water and then add that to the paint that you will use on the coating.
Basecoating 1:1 parts solution to paint Layering 4:1 parts solution to paint Washes 10:1 parts solution to paint

Can I use the Golden Fluid Matte Medium for both making dark shading washes and as a flow improver in the thinning solution?

Golden Fluid Matte Medium:
http://www.goldenpai...ums/medprop.php
GOLDEN Fluid Matte Medium
GOLDEN Fluid Matte Medium is a liquid, pourable acrylic medium useful for extending colors, increasing translucency and decreasing gloss. This product is particularly useful with GOLDEN Fluid Acrylics to decrease gloss without altering viscosity. It is also useful as a translucent ground.
ALTER CONSISTENCY: Mixing any fluid medium into thicker products, like Heavy Body Acrylics, will thin the paint and increase its flow.

Matte medium is used to thin paints and make them more transparent. When matte medium is used with dark paints (that flow well) and water, you can mix up the equivalent of a "magic wash" that makes very short work of shading and darklining.

GOLDEN Acrylic Flow Release
http://www.goldenpai...s/additives.php