• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 zoroaster100

zoroaster100

Master

• Bones Supporter
  • 913 posts

Posted 26 September 2012 - 09:49 PM

I started painting the Scotia Grendel's Goblin Torturer's Chamber. Here are most of the pieces, with my initial work. There is one big piece, not shown here, that I haven't even started - the goblin gate. I've started on the other pieces but wanted to post them here at their current stage and see if I can get some advice before proceeding. I'm a novice painter (started painting minis after pledging the Reaper Kickstarter, about 4 weeks ago), so pretty much everything I'm trying, I'm doing for the first time.

I could use advice, especially with the following:

1) Any suggestions for improving the look of the stone surfaces?
2) Any suggestions for how to paint the ropes so they look more like rope, including a suggestion on any Reaper MSP color or color combo to use?
3) I used Reaper MSP Honed Silver for the metal parts, and I think they look too shiny and new. Any suggestions for making the chains and such look more like they would look in a goblin's torture chamber in a dungeon?
4) Am I headed in the right direction with the coal pit for the hot tongs, to try to represent the glowing heat? Suggestions for improving on this approach or for an alternate approach?
5) Any other suggestions for improvement of these pieces?

Any nugget of wisdom you can share is appreciated.

Attached Thumbnails

• Grendel - hot coals 1.jpg
  • Grendel - hot coals 2.jpg
  • Grendel - chopping block.jpg
  • Grendel - torture devices.jpg

#2 zoroaster100

zoroaster100

Master

• Bones Supporter
  • 913 posts

Posted 26 September 2012 - 09:51 PM