• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Brian Swartzmiller

Brian Swartzmiller

Mostly Harmless

• Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 30 September 2012 - 01:23 PM

I am new to painting mini's, but have been doing dioramas for a while so I wanted to combine the two. My Idea is to use an aold card table approx 3X3 and have a small "outpost" consisting of a Blacksmith w/attached shop, A tavern, An Item/potion shop, and A "magic" shop for items and spells. All buildings I am going to design myself. I plan on using lots of interrior details in the buildings.

Now my first question would be is there any other type of building I might be missing (my goal is to double the diorama as a table top game), so Adventures can "prepare" in town?

The Rest of the Diorama will consist of some water features and mountains, I will sculpt and rough the terrian my self and add deatils. Now depending on the size of the village I'd like to set up at least three "quests" on the table for example one quest might take place in a small ancient graveyard, but I have to make it all fit the table and flow togehter. All ideas will be welcome

last thought while I am getting the land formed I'll be painting the mini's I going to be using as of now I'm looking at a 4-5 man adventuring party starting in town, 5 NPC's in the various shops, like I said once I get the concept for the village and how it will look I can scale the rest around that. This will be a LONG project and I look forward to the ideas

#2 Nocturne

Nocturne

King of the North

• Members
  • 3149 posts

Posted 30 September 2012 - 01:33 PM

As you mentioned a graveyard the obvious missing building is a small church or chapel, can double as places for clerics to prepare, get blessed items etc.