Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
arosenwald

60044: Damiel, Iconic Alchemist

9 posts in this topic

As a teacher, I look at lesson plans I did in my first few years of teaching and I sit back and slap my forehead as I reflect on how poor of a job I feel I did. Even though I'm still new at this, I feel the same way when I look at this paint job (but I'm putting it up anyway, at the wife's prodding).

I play an alchemist in one of the campaigns my group is in, and so naturally I painted this fig as soon as possible. That said, I'd appreciate any advice you could provide, especially in the areas of painting eyes (I've ready the "Bette Davis eyes" article, so anything else would be good) and hair. I will go on record as saying that I feel like the picture doesn't do it justice, but I'm working on that ;)

As always, feedback is appreciated.

post-8156-0-14247300-1350428591_thumb.jpg

post-8156-0-69175100-1350428608_thumb.jpg

post-8156-0-84885800-1350428620_thumb.jpg

Trust me- the wife- that this picture doesnt do the fig justice. The vials are amazing as is the shading overall.

That's pretty good. Needs more shading.

The Bette Davis Eyes technique is pretty good, but its real easy to ruin the eyes while painting the face. A little runaway wash can spoil your whole day. I like to save eyes for last.

The technique I use most often works like this:

1. Paint the entire eye and eye socket area (eyelids, etc.) with the base color of your model's flesh tone. Since I use Reaper Master Series Paints, this would be the Shadow for whatever flesh tone I'm using.

2. Paint the eye and edges of eyelids with black or dark brown. I can usually accomplish this with a single short brushstroke using a 0 or 00 brush. Black if I want a very bold eye, brown if I want something more realistic and natural looking.

3. Paint the eye with white or an off-white. Reaper's Leather White works well for this.

4. Let the whole thing dry thoroughly.