Sign in to follow this  
Harumphery

Ogremage WIP

I've always liked this Ogre Mage model, and the other day I finally bought him

ogremageearliestwip.jpg

I got most of the base coating done and started in on his flesh before I remembered to snap a picture. His skin is base coated GW Shadow Gray,and highlighted up to Space Wolf Grey. The creases around his jowels and under his chins and man-boobs got some red, green and purple ink washes.

ogremage.jpg

ogremage1.jpg

Sorry for the poor quality indoors iPhone picture. It took a lot of debate on my end to figure out how I wanted to paint this guy's clothes. I knew I wanted something to contrast with the monstrous nature of the ogre mage. I ended up going with a floral pattern. I've never tried any freehand like this before, but I like where it's going. The flowers will be highlighted up to a light pink. At the end I'll be drybrushing and inking some brown around the pant cuffs and his feet to muddy 'em up a bit.

ogremage3.jpg

More flowers getting added, still working on highlighting 'em up to pink. I'll make the big bow on his belt thing a satiny pink sorta color too. I like to imagine that this brute murdered some poor traveling silk trader and took the expensive silk intended for ladies evening gowns (or something) to make his own clothes. He doesn't care for his clothes however so they'll be muddy and stained.

More pics to come as I work on him.

• Like 3

I love this mini, too. Great concept for the color scheme! Glad to see I'm not the only one who makes up a backstory :p

• Like 1

Wow. You actually bought a miniature then started painting it? No, like, queue or prepping it and loosing interest. Man, what that must be like.