• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 superbug

superbug

Mostly Harmless

• Members
  • 35 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 08:30 AM

I know I need to improve my painting technique. I'm stuck and need some advice. Here is an example. On this mini, isn't much contrast. You see brush strokes. There isn't much depth. I used to blame it on the photo,because the mini always looks better in actual. I need to learn to paint in a way that will show better on camera. I would appreciate all comments. Thanks for your time

Attached Thumbnails

• prince w sword.jpg

#2 Maglok

Maglok

Master

• Bones Supporter
  • 846 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 08:56 AM

I am no expert, but can give it a whirl.

The face is quite nice, i like that. I think the blue is quite overdone though. Maybe try to make it blend with the rest of the mini a bit more, maybe a wash of brown or the like. You could also put in some more time in the base. Overall though, this is still quite nice. You can see the skill on the face.
  • superbug likes this

Glok's Grotto (A gaming blog that I seem to not get bored with!)

Bones kickstarter #1 count: 34

Stonehaven gnomes count: 7

Stoneheaven dwarfs count: 1

#3 Inarah

Inarah

Godlike

• Bones Supporter
  • 4192 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 08:57 AM

Brush strokes means you're applying the paint too heavily, or you're messing with it after it has started to dry.
  • superbug likes this
~It's not broken.... it's a conversion. ~

"I got my brother and his six year old hooked last week. They were soon back at the friendly local for more. Starts with a cute lil unicorn, next thing you're onto griffins and purple worms." ~ Carnacki the Ghost Finder

#4 Doug Sundseth

Doug Sundseth

Wizard of Wavicles

• Members
  • 3997 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 09:15 AM

You see brush strokes.