• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 fanguad

fanguad

Master

• Bones Supporter
  • 806 posts

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:24 AM

Hi all! I'm a beginning painter looking for comments and critiques. Here's a miniature that I finished recently:

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Some areas that I know need improvement:
I put the wash on way too heavy. I was able to clean up the color somewhat by "highlighting" with my original color.
I got glue on some lower parts of the mini so there's bits of basing material stuck in cracks.
  • Girot, klyons99, Pragma and 1 other like this

#2 joshuaslater

joshuaslater

Godlike

• Bones Supporter
  • 6234 posts

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:40 AM

You just sold me, and many others, on this model. Expect a hand written thank you note from the Reaper people.
  • Girot likes this
A miniature venture of mine: http://www.cauldronbornminiatures.com

#3 MiniCannuck

MiniCannuck

Godlike

• Bones Supporter
  • 1067 posts

Posted 14 November 2012 - 10:29 AM

Great paint job. I think you did a great job on the jem and the parchment. The thing that throws me is the "shiny model" syndrom. For me, it takes away from the model. Thanks for sharing - I think I want that model now!

#4 Girot

Girot

Drunk Bacon God

• Bones Supporter
  • 3232 posts

Posted 14 November 2012 - 12:14 PM

I love it and also want one of these now, lol.

If you want to remedy the shiney issue I'd hit up the whole model with a dullcoat (spray-on matt varnish). One light coating should do the trick. Otherwise you could just hit up the skin and parchment with a brush-on matt varnish. The rest works just fine being shiney.
Active Events: Lysette | Dragons 2013 | Bad Boys | TMBG 2014 | WX14 | RC Songs |
Click this link to my gallery! I need the hits! ::P: | 2014 Painted Miniatures/Models: 23

#5 Mierot

Mierot

Enlightened

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 253 posts

Posted 14 November 2012 - 02:37 PM

Nice paint job! I really like the browns.