• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Dominus

Dominus

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 November 2012 - 12:18 AM

Hi Everyone!

I'm one of what I imagine to be many newbies around here after the very successful kickstarter, and while I'm not a newbie to painting minis, it has been a very long time since I've been active (about 15 years in fact!). But thanks to kickstarter, I have a ton of awesome looking reaper minis coming next year and also a ton of sci-fi football goodness from the Dreadball kickstarter...what I don't have is any paints!

So I was going to order myself one of the great looking Build Your Own Paint Sets from the reaper site, but I'm totally overwhelmed by the options and really have no idea where to start. I've had a poke around the site and the forum but couldn't find any suggestions on what would make a good 'starter set' of 54 paints. 54 is a lot of paints anyway so even if I just picked at random I'm sure I'd do ok, but I'd love some expert opinions if you guys have any :-)

Starting completely from scratch here, so advise accordingly!

#2 Argentee

Argentee

Godlike

• Bones Supporter
  • 1372 posts

Posted 19 November 2012 - 12:34 AM

Ok... Start with Brush on Primer and black Primer. True White, True Black. Then pick the 2 hair colors and skin colors you'll use the most, and add those triads. Add Brilliant greens, True blues, and Fire colors triads. Soil colors, Neutral Greys, and Off Whites triads. That puts you at 34 already!
  • Adrift likes this

"They'll sell you thousands of greens. Veronese green and emerald green and cadmium green and any sort of green you like; but that particular green, never."  - Pablo Picasso

ss_fx_by_girot-d5xrcq0.gif

#3 TheAuldGrump

TheAuldGrump

Godlike

• Bones Supporter
  • 1319 posts

Posted 19 November 2012 - 01:00 AM

I might skip the brush on primers and get spray primers instead - I typically use automotive primers.