Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Nocturne

Atelier Nocturne

80 posts in this topic

I've never tried NMM before and after finishing the Ogre chieftain I wanted to give it a go. I had a box of GW's Chaos Warriors lying around so that seemed like a perfect start as that gave me a batch of near identical armoured figures to begin on. First attempt it below. The figure in metallic, which I'm using as a comparison point, has just had it's base coat and wash so far so at the moment it's much darker than it's going to be.
This first one was just a quick test. I still need to go over with some black ink lining to help define some areas but otherwise I'm relatively happy except for the shield, It just looks flat to me. I don't know if finishing the symbol off would help settle that or if it just looks like a two tone shield, either way the light side needs a more gradual blend than is currently there. Any comments or advice would be appreciated.

This was just a quick snap with my phone so apologies for the quality, I'll do proper ones as I go along.

DSC_0366-1.jpg

Edited by Nocturne
5 people like this

I will die a True Metals purist. Damn fine attempt though!

2 people like this

I'm fond of true metals, too - but experimentation is good! Let out your inner mad scientist!

I'm fond of true metals, too - but experimentation is good! Let out your inner mad scientist!

Muaaaaahahahahaaaa-err-uhh.... I mean, um, be careful what you wish for. :devil:

You're off to a much better start than I ever had with NMM!

I think you just need to hit the edges with some near white hot spots, and find a place to put a lighter gleam going across the 'lightest' area but otherwise it's looking great!

I like the shield. You want the flat parts to look flat in this case, because when you're dealing with grays to do steel or iron, you run the risk of making it look like granite if you busy it up.

Looks good. I dig it!

Thanks for the comments everyone, much appreciated ::):