Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Prometheus

Painting a Bones minotaur

38 posts in this topic

I thought it might me entertaining for you awesome people to see a complete beginner stumbling his way around assembling his first mini.

post-9218-0-54584500-1360493009_thumb.jpg

I tried to hide the broccoli base with green stuff but I couldn't quite get it to cooperate, there's also a mould line on the face that seems impossible to get at.

Criticism appreciated.

7 people like this

Yeah that mould line is just pure hell. I shaded in such a way as to imply that the line wasn't there. If you're careful not to let the mould line dictate the paint it's... less horrible. But still pretty horrible. I look forward to watching you suffer seeing what you do with it :P

3 people like this

You've already done more basing than I ever have or want to :)

1 person likes this

If that base is a sign of things to come, you will have a great looking mini once the paint is on :-)

1 person likes this

Good start but I recommend getting an exacto knife and just cutting straight down next to the feet and removing the base, a couple of careful cuts and the mini will be baseless and should stand on it's own. Imo It would be a better look for what your trying to do.

And I don't know about you but My mini had some hellish gaps around the left side of the neck and left arm where they attach to the body, I highly suggest some liquid green stuff in the cracks, it goes on like paint then hardens up. also if you find you applied it in the wrong amount or wrong area it scratches off very easily with an exacto knife so don't get too worried about it.

these are the areas to look at, I had to follow the seem all the way up to the top of the hair on the left side, I would do very light coats in this area as it will show as a rough area if you get too much.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/78059741@N08/8462033672/'>8462033672_6fb1ceeea5.jpg

Edited by pocketcthulhu