Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
ThatDeadGuy

Question about Swing Through

Recommended Posts

Hello all. Long time no speak. I had a thought about the rule Swing Through and I wanted to share. I MAY be over complicating things but here goes:

 

The first sentence of Swing Through states "A model this SA doesn't target individual models with its attacks, but instead targets sides of its base."

 

I was wondering if that means Swing Through does not provoke defensive strikes? I've noticed many of the models with that ability are fairly high in points in regards to other similar strength models, yet I've never felt Swing Through was all that effective - since it provokes defensive strikes against every model in its path (if it's more than one even), at a reduce MAV. So my question is this: Does Swing Through provoke Defensive Strikes? Thanks in advance for clearing that up!

 

- ThatDeadGuy of the Necropolis

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Swing Through provokes Defensive Stikes normally, so anyone attacked by the Swing Through model can swing back. The power of this SA is: (1) you get to attack each model along one base side with each of your attacks and (2) you get to take Swing Through attacks on Defense Strikes, again attacking a base side with each attack.

 

The penalty to MAV is the same consideration you get when figuring out if you should use Frenzy SA. Its nice against low DV models. My impression is that you don't have to use the SA if you don't want to, instead just attacking one model if you're going up against a high DV type.

 

**edit** hmm, after re-reading the SA description, I'm not so sure you can choose not to Swing Thru...

Edited by Deadeye_Jake

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the reply. I figured that would be the answer. I thought to ask because it is such a relatively useless ability for single track, standard base troops (such as Wraith Harvesters). The likelihood of basing more than one enemy on a single side is very very low, and since all opponents are defensive striking you are pretty much likely to suffer the Wraith as a casualty. And the Wraith is a marginally high points cost for a single health track troop....I thought there might be some correlation there. I don't believe that you can choose to NOT Swing Through, though as I said it comes up so rarely that such a point is basically moot. And if it was actually managed to be set up, I can't imagine NOT wanting to take the swing through. Thanks again for the reply!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually the Wraith Harvester makes for a decent lawn mower. MAV5 means he hits DV10 60% of the time. At most he'll ever be able to hit 3 guys. They really shine in defensive strikes because they have MAV5.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×