MamaGeek

St. Patrick (02087: Brother Louis IV)

35 posts in this topic

Hooooly caaaarp!

I mean...wow...just...it's...wow.

3 people like this

stunning work. knowing what I'm looking at on the floor allows me to appreciate what it was you were going for.

2 people like this

stunning work. knowing what I'm looking at on the floor allows me to appreciate what it was you were going for.

Still not totally successful, though, right? Ah, well, it's my first attempt. I'll have to do it again sometime, for the practice!

Like all your work, this is amazing. (Especially the beard, I never would have known it wasn't originally part of the piece.) I think the reason why the stained glass doesn't quite work is because there is no corresponding beam of light or other lighting effect to give the related visual cues. If you had a wall or something you could add those elements in, but it's cursedly hard to paint air. :upside:

Still a strikingly lifelike miniature.

4 people like this

Still not totally successful, though, right? Ah, well, it's my first attempt. I'll have to do it again sometime, for the practice!

No no! You pulled it off! Next time I would extend the effect onto his robes, that would give you enough space to include an actual image of something (maybe an angel?) I think that would have made it obvious enough to stand out on it's own.

As for the pattern for the angel: google a pic you like, import into photoshop, and use the stainglass filter. Bam. Instant reference pattern.

EDIT: PM me a link to a pic you like and I can hook you up with the altered image later tonight

EDIT 2.0: Having taken a closer look at the floor you really did an amazing job on the marble texture!!

Edited by Girot
1 person likes this

Next time I would extend the effect onto his robes, that would give you enough space to include an actual image of something (maybe an angel?) I think that would have made it obvious enough to stand out on it's own.