Sign in to follow this  
unidentifiable

Protecting Bones

Hi folks,

I'm a complete newbie to this stuff, but I know that I need to toss a coat of varnish of some sort on my Bones to keep them from being ruined. I've seen the "Toss a few Bones in a box" tests, and Bones stand up fairly well, but I'm experiencing a little bit of rub-off and I will be using Bones for RPGs so they're going to take a bit of punishment.

I gather that Testors Dullcote is industry-standard for a matte varnish. Do Bones require a gloss coat before a matte or can I just hit them with a matte varnish and be done?

What brand of gloss coat should I use if required? Any favorites if I can't get my hands on Testors Dullcote?

For minis intended for heavy use, I've been using GW 'Ardcoat brush-on. I haven't really found many options for brush-ons though, and the GW is a bit thick and very shiny.

I use Krylon Gloss clear coat that I get at ACE hardware. Once that dries I hit it with a coat of Testors Dulcote. (Hobby Lobby sells that and if you get an online cupon you get it for 40% off!)

I have also ahd good luck just using a brush on dulcote when I want some aprts to remain shiny(Like armor)

Oh man this thread is just what I'm looking for. Aerosols seem to be bad news, for a variety of reasons. There have been reports that gloss sealers are actually bad for Bones, since they will crack where Bones, paint, and matte sealers will bend. Matte sealers do provide some modicum of protection, and I think it should be plenty for the already-sturdy Bones.