I just started painting minis with a LTP kit and then my Bones 1 KS minis. I have a bottle of Reaper brush on sealer and also have some matte finish spray. I paint my minis with mainly Reaper paints (and some Citadel). Should I put a sealer coat on? Or does the sealer crack due to the bones being a little bendy?

It should be fine. Bones don't really need to be sealed, the paint bonds with the plastic and it's pretty tough, but your Bones shouldn't be bending enough in regular use for the sealer to crack.

Not necessarily. ): I'd research first into *why* it's tacky before proceeding further:

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/840044/minis-still-tacky

http://forum.rpg.net/showthread.php?650128-Minis-still-sticky-after-clear-sealer

From what I've read, Citadel paints alone should not cause tackiness. Post a detailed WIP including drying times to hopefully get some help and painting feedback!

EDIT: Did some searching based on anime's reply, but no luck finding a decent answer to the problem. ):

Edited by ced1106

Painting my Reaper Bones Pathfinder Dragon with no primer. I used dish soap and warm water and used a hard brush to try to remove any release agent. All I have on the mini right now is Citadel Base Mephiston Red and the paint is tacky and comes off not super easy, but it's definitely not durable.

Did you rinse well after you washed it? I don't have any Citadel paints but I do know that when sanitizing equipment 3 rinses are recommended. I generally just rinse under running water, though.

Don't use any aerosols on Bones; they have been noted to sometimes have very bad reactions. I use Reaper brush-on sealer, which dries matte, and it works great!

I use a brush on sealer for all my minis. Of course, given the stated durability of Bones I'm only putting one-ish coat on, whereas my metal minis get 3 coats. (I'm paranoid about chipping.) Other's have reported that brush on matte sealer with make that tackiness thing go away IIRC.

• Like 1