ernieball22

Yellow Gems/Amber/Citrine/etc

So I'm painting up a big project at work and have had a heck of a time figuring out how to get a good looking yellow gemstone. I don't want it to be orange, but really yellow. 

I've been fiddling with using red browns as the base, but it comes out more like a muddy yellow than a crystalline yellow. 

You folks are some of the best painters out there in World Wide Web World, so I figured I'd try and pick your brains :) 

Any help would be appreciated.

Have you tried using tanned shadow as your base or shadow color? I'm looking at it in my brain place and it seems like it may help brighten up your yellow gem idea. Of course I may be thinking in a different shade of yellow but when I get home I can think of a triad for you if you like, based around tanned shadow or tanned skin.

I'm a pretty bad painter - so I won't even bother trying to pretend I know what I'm talking about.

I'm also pretty bad at colours - so I won't try to help with that either.

However - I'm not bad with the Googles.  I've got 3 decent pics below: yellow topaz, citrine, and amber (my favourite, if I were to pick one as a reference photo for painting).  Dropping them into the fancy Reaper Colour Picker Tool could yield you with decent results.

yellow-topaz-gemstones-03-797362.jpg

CITRINE-cushion.jpg

Linked cause of GIANTness:  http://www.gemologyproject.com/wiki/images/f/fc/Chiapas_amber.JPG

Chiapas_amber.JPG

Speaking from a cutting and polishing standpoint.  Yellow is a tough gem to work with anyway.  Amber is more brown with yellow highlights than yellow.  Topaz is yellow but still has a brownish tinge.  In my experience very few yellow gems get that white light spot, particularly when its a Cabochon.  Even in the examples above you note there is no top highlight.