Živa

Has my Pro-Create gone off?

12 posts in this topic

Long story short, I'm new to sculpting and have never used putty before (I've used Super Sculpey), but I found some Pro-Create in my closet I must have bought over a year ago and forgotten about. It's extremely hard to work with, like gum scraped off the bottom of a desk. Since I've never used it before, I don't know if that's normal and I just need better tools/technique, or if it's gone off because it's old and wasn't stored in cool temperatures. Anyone care to offer an opinion? 

Ours is about 5 years old, maybe older. It does start out hard, but softens as you work it. 

Ours is about 5 years old, maybe older. It does start out hard, but softens as you work it. 

So do I need to knead it until it's softer? I don't feel like it ever softens, but maybe I just need more practice. 

I had some trouble kneading a different brand of 2-part epoxy putty this last weekend. It was five-plus years old and there were hardened chunks in it that were not kneading together at all. I started again, but this time I first dropped the two parts into a steaming hot cup of water (not one I drink from, of course). After a moment, I pulled them out and kneaded them with no problem. As they got stiff again, I dipped the putty back into the hot water, then continued kneading until it was completely mixed.

The putty has hardened up, with no problem from the water so far.

1 person likes this

The problem is that you don't know how long the store had it before you got it (why I always try to buy from the mfgr). Knead it for a bit, if it doesn't soften, try mixing it 1:1 with Apoxie Sculpt.  If that saves it, great; if not, chuck it.

1 person likes this

It's extremely hard to work with, like gum scraped off the bottom of a desk.

looks normal to me

Most of the various putties have a fairly short shelf life where they work great, but then they have a much longer period where they're still usable but not optimal...