TaleSpinner

Welcome, New and Old Introductions

241 posts in this topic

Loim. Real name Michael.

Member since sometime in 2009. Been painting off and on since then. I paint very slowly. 

I started gaming in '90 or '91. Group broke up in college, and I've had sporadic games off an on since then. Started with a mix of 1e/2e, and now I mostly use LL because it's simple. 

I lurk more than I post these days, for various reasons. I occasionally jump into the Forum hangouts, though more often I host my own hangout where we paint and chat, though I sometimes draw or sculpt instead of painting. 

I work in IT, and have done so for the last dozen years. 

I know quite a few of the long timers from the previous ReaperCons I've attended, though the date change precludes me from attending now. 

22 people like this

I am who my user name and profile say I am*.

I'm a technical writer and professional photographer working for a major multi-national corporation with a very strong presence in home decor.

I've been a roleplayer since 1976 and an adventure gamer longer than that. I was a highly ranked DBM (ancients and medievals) player at one time, took third place in the first GenCon Magic tournament, have played boardgames of every description for decades, ... if it's adventure gaming, I've probably done it or something very like it. I used to be the editor of Games Quarterly Catalog, Hobbies Quarterly Catalog, and Games Annual Magazine, but that's been years now.

I've been painting since the late '70s (the group where I started playing D&D was originally a historical miniatures group), and still have some of the figures I bought then unpainted. This habit has not changed over time; I have far more unpainted figures than I will ever paint. At this point, I don't even much worry about that.

I've taught painting classes at Genghis Con and Tacticon here in Denver, and have former students who are now far better painters than I am. I count that as a win.