DefectiveDonor

WIP 77557 KS3 Mystic Circle

10 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

I'm relatively new to painting and had to put it on the back burner for a while. My KS3 shipment just came in and I figured the Mystic Circle would be the perfect "mini" to jump back in with.  

I was out of crazy glue and could not assemble it. If your in this situation, sharpies fit inside the stone pillars perfectly.   

I used craft store black paint to base coat the stone, and inadvertently made a half wash. I'm not happy with how it pooled in some areas, but I'm going to move on an use it as a learning experience.  

Im planning on using a dremel to carve in runes on the stone. Has anyone used anything else to carve into reaper bone material?

Any tips or C&C would be appreciated.  

IMG_6541.JPG

IMG_6544.JPG

Edited by DefectiveDonor
15 people like this

Nice start so far.

2 people like this

Looking good so far.  Keep up the good work.

1 person likes this

I dremeled a rune in each column. There is 7 columns if you count the complete columns as one each so I found "runes for the seven deadly sins." 

Move put down a blue wash down followed by three grays layers of dry brushing, an off white dry brushing, and a brown wash. I think it's looking pretty good so far.  

Im planning on putting/painting moss on the stones, painting the runes the colors representing the seven deadly sins and giving them a glow effect. I would love to put some ivy on the columns but I cannot find any locally or on Amazon. 

Im leaning on an autumn-ish basing, but I'm not sure. Can you have green moss during the autumn? 

The side by side shot of the columns is before and after the brown wash. 

IMG_6584.JPG

IMG_6585.JPG

IMG_6586.JPG

8 people like this

Your runes came out great. The stones are looking ominously mystical.