jsalyers

Hedgehog Transport

12 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

I can't find which faction uses the Hedgehog transport in the list of faction vehicles I downloaded from the Talon Games site.

 

Can someone explain to me who can use it?

 

Thanks!

 

J--

Edited by jsalyers

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's been removed from the model list for CAV:SO. It was formerly available to all factions, with Malvernis having access to a superior version as the faction linked with the Hedgehog's manufacturer, Mark IV.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
47 minutes ago, Vil-hatarn said:

It's been removed from the model list for CAV:SO. It was formerly available to all factions, with Malvernis having access to a superior version as the faction linked with the Hedgehog's manufacturer, Mark IV.

 

That's odd, there is still a card for it in the list of units I downloaded.

 

J---

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay, I think I figured this out. Initially for C:SO, several of the large flying transports were removed from the game and reclassed as Dropships without data cards--you can see this in the master model list for the Baron, Czar, and a few others. The data cards in the list are to allow people to use their old models in home games--the [2] designates models not allowed for official play (see also Spider, Scorpion, Recluse).

 

Given it's unofficial nature, you can use it however you'd like; the way most in line with C:SO's design, however, would be to allow it for Malvernis forces only.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

^ That is correct.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Interesting.  So give or take, How long would a hedgehog be? In actual feet?If i twas real?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

CAV1 Journal of Recognition says 14 feet tall; without measuring precisely I'd say 60 feet or so. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For what it is worth, the True-Scale Hedgehog measures:

5/8" (.6250) tall,

2 7/8" (2.8750) long.

So @ 14' tall it would work out to 64.4' long.  As always my measurements are with a Starrett Machinist's Rule.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 minutes ago, Watchman said:

For what it is worth, the True-Scale Hedgehog measures:

5/8" (.6250) tall,

2 7/8" (2.8750) long.

So @ 14' tall it would work out to 64.4' long.  As always my measurements are with a Starrett Machinist's Rule.

At 14' tall in 10mm that would make it just shy of an inch tall and if 60' long about 4'' so I think True-Scale may be off a bit. 12mm would be even worse. If you figure the doors on the side to be around 6' tall (I think a good guess for an armored vehicle as the back hatch on a M113 is around 4 feet and I think we would be more generous due to powered armor) so I would go with about 10' tall and about 65' long if it was "real" (which would make the mini (in 10mm) about 5/8"x4 3/8"). Which is why (one reason anyway) I dropped it as an armored "vehicle." Its more in line with being an aircraft/troop transport. Just a couple of random thoughts I thought I would add to the conversation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Any reason why it was dropped from the miniature line? It's a good looking model.

 

I own 10 of them. :)

 

I wish I owned 2 more Crusaders. :(

 

J--

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There was an explanation a few years back, but to be honest, I don't remember what it was.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Like I mentioned earlier, the Hedgehog is not an APC its a armored transport and has more in common with aircraft. Its present state didn't fit in what I was after going forward.

I plan on bringing it back...here is a preview of the model we are working on for it.

Hedgehog_Orthos.jpg

 

2 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Similar Content

    • By jsalyers
      Getting started on my Cavcon models. Fielding a Templar army from scratch in 2017 is a bit of work.
       
      Thanks to @Vil-hatarn and @Watchman for helping me find them. :-]
       
      J--

    • By jsalyers
      I'm confused by what SA: TAG does in CAV. 
       
      In the SO rules on page 124-125 it is never clear what a TAG does - at least not to me. In the errata, it says that, "...the attacker may "paint" and fire guided missiles at a designated target during the same combat action."
       
      In the SO rules page 113 it says that Guided Missile require either a Target Lock or a TAG in order to fire.
      In the SO rules page 115 it says that rockets with the'semi-guided' upgrade (page 136) can take advantage of TAG.
       
      Here are my questions:
      Does the TAG confer a Target Lock? Does the TAG allow the use of a targeting computer bonus against the painted target? Can the TAG be used by other units in the friendly force? If it cannot and it can only benefit Guided Missiles and semi-guided Rockets then why does the Spartan who has no GMs and no Rockets have a TAG?  
      I looked through all of the data sheets and I found 17 models with the SA:TAG. Of those 17 only 5 had GMs and none had semi-guided Rockets.
       
      I must be missing something. Why would all of those units have TAG if they can't make use of it?
       
      Thanks for your time and understanding. 
       
      J--
    • By jsalyers
      I'm trying parse this paragraph from the rules packet. I think I understand it but as a noob I could use some confirmation.
       
       
      Aircraft, infantry, and vehicle models are not eligible for use during this tournament. We're only allowed to bring CAVs. Bonus points [not allowed] Normally, a force group gets 20% of its threat value pool in points to spend on specializations from Battlefield: upgrades, support assets, support strikes. We don't get any of these points. specialization assets and packages [not allowed] Normally, a force gets 10% of its threat value pool to spend on additional force group specializations, We don't get any of these points.  
      What I think this boils down to is that we're to play CAVs only, using the stats printed on the datasheets with no modifications. We have exactly 5000 points to spend - no bonuses.
       
      Is this right...?
       
      Thanks for your help!
       
      J--
    • By jsalyers
      After annoying Cavboss (sorry) I finally got signed up for the tournament. Looking forward to meeting some of you there.
       
      I have a pile of unpainted Grand Order of the Temple metal CAV piled on my desk that I've worked fairly hard to collect. I plan to play 100% painted. [crosses fingers]
       
      I've only played 3 games so far so forgive me when I get stuff wrong.
       
      J--
    • By jsalyers
      I searched the forum and tried to find an answer to my question(s) before posting but could not. I'm not sure what the accepted policy is on quoting the rules in the forums so if I've broken a rule please forgive me.
       
      In the CAV:SO book page 57 bullet point 3 under Field Notes says that a Target Lock is required before a Guided Missile is fired or it will auto-miss - [paraphrased]
       
      The CAV: Errata says to replace the third paragraph (by which I think they mean bullet point) with a paragraph that includes this line:
       
      "The target-lock action can be used by a model to acquire an active “lock” on a target as part of a ranged assault that includes guided missiles (see Guided Missile, p. 112). ..."
       
      Does making a ranged assault with a Guided Missile require 2 actions (1 for the Target Lock and 1 for the Ranged Assault)?
       
      Or
       
      Does making a ranged assault with a Guided Missile require 1 action that includes the Target Lock and the Ranged Assault together?
       
      Or
       
      Something else I've missed.
       
      Thanks 
       
      J--
  • Who's Online   14 Members, 0 Anonymous, 0 Guests (See full list)