8 posts in this topic

Alright, I figured I needed to get this WIP started so that I can at least get a few things going. This will be my first commission for the wife of an old friend and DM of mine, which I'm happy to do. In our Way of the Wicked campaign she plays Pyrrhi, an oracle of Asmodeus. We found a figure that looks very similar to her drawings of her character, and she asked me to paint it for her. She has full confidence in my abilities, despite the knowledge that I have never done a skin tone before. I bought the Fair Skin Triad specifically for this. Wish me luck.

Since she is an artist in her own right ( and my Bones III package even inspired her to start painting minis for the first time!), she has supplied me with a detailed list of what she sees the figure looking like, which is incredibly helpful. I'm putting it on here or my own reference:

-Skin: Ivory, black lips

-Head: Reddish-purple pentagram on crown of head

-Skirt: Scarlet

-Skull Armour: Leave as is ( I assume she meant metallic)

-Skeletal Shirt: black

-Boots: Red w/black detail (heels+skull, etc)

-Scroll: Aged papyrus yellow, red scribbles

-Gauntlets: Oxblood red (leave fingers+spikes as is)

-Staff: Brown w/black skull (red eye socket)

-Base: Black

There is certainly some wiggle room when it comes to the colours, so I'm not stuck. I stopped painting on my orc druid to start this, but because of the job hunt and the general feeling of being unmotivated, I haven't really done much. I'm starting this WIP in hopes that it'll give me a jumpstart to get back into things again, and I really appreciate any advice you all have to offer me on completing it. I have several different lines of paints, so feel free to call out anything that you think might work.

First of all, the figure I started on:

20170408_182629.thumb.jpg.187e5babf88ee6da3827868c3857b8d1.jpg

20170408_182637.thumb.jpg.134082cc58523a74c04789e8222d62ca.jpg

20170702_165921.thumb.jpg.a103ced9593f4b277e91b6bf8365dc4e.jpg