Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jsalyers

Puzzling out how TAG works

4 posts in this topic

I'm confused by what SA: TAG does in CAV. 

 

In the SO rules on page 124-125 it is never clear what a TAG does - at least not to me. In the errata, it says that, "...the attacker may "paint" and fire guided missiles at a designated target during the same combat action."

 

In the SO rules page 113 it says that Guided Missile require either a Target Lock or a TAG in order to fire.

In the SO rules page 115 it says that rockets with the'semi-guided' upgrade (page 136) can take advantage of TAG.

 

Here are my questions:

  1. Does the TAG confer a Target Lock?
  2. Does the TAG allow the use of a targeting computer bonus against the painted target?
  3. Can the TAG be used by other units in the friendly force?
    1. If it cannot and it can only benefit Guided Missiles and semi-guided Rockets then why does the Spartan who has no GMs and no Rockets have a TAG?

 

I looked through all of the data sheets and I found 17 models with the SA:TAG. Of those 17 only 5 had GMs and none had semi-guided Rockets.

 

I must be missing something. Why would all of those units have TAG if they can't make use of it?

 

Thanks for your time and understanding. 

 

J--

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

TAG is the poor man's answer to ECM and with the change to guided missiles allows you to use a guided missile without needing to spend an extra action for target-lock. So to answer your questions...

 

Using TAG no longer requires an action point to use and is included as part of the direct-fire combat action (it is all basically a low level laser). So lets say you want to fire the GM along with your MACs but only have the one action point. You declare it as part of your combat and its automatic as long as you have a direct LoS to the target, allowing you to fire any GM(s) you may have. NOTE: TAG does not allow the addition of any targeting-computer bonuses, that may only be used with the target-lock action. TAG cannot be blocked expect with smoke and losing LoS.

 

Question 1. Does the TAG confer a Target Lock?

No, it only allows you to fire a guided-missile(s) at the selected target. Its a slight nuance in what TAG enables.

 

Question 2: Does the TAG allow the use of a targeting computer bonus against the painted target?

No. Refer to earlier statements.

 

Question 3: Can the TAG be used by other units in the friendly force?

Yes. TAG remains in place from the time it is activated until the beginning of that models next activation. ANY model in the friendly force group can use it, unlike EST which is squad specific. That kinda takes care of question 3.1.

 

Several models have TAG to either compliment their load-out or in a recon roll to seek out an enemy target for fire-support models. No models have semi-guided rockets as that is an upgrade to normal rockets. If you have a rocket launcher you can spend the extra TV to upgrade the launcher to semi-guided.

 

Hopefully that helps!

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

What kind of action does a unit with TAG but no guided missiles spend to paint a target? A direct fire combat action...?

 

Thanks for the answer Cavboss. It is so nice to get direct, meaningful answers from a game company. I'm pretty sure I'll have a few more between now and Cavcon

 

 

I'll be happy to buy you lunch one day while we're there.

 

J--

Edited by jsalyers

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes it would use the combat action if part of an attack or still use the special action to use it by itself.

 

I'm always happy to answer a question and look forward to seeing you at the show.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Similar Content

    • By jsalyers
      Getting started on my Cavcon models. Fielding a Templar army from scratch in 2017 is a bit of work.
       
      Thanks to @Vil-hatarn and @Watchman for helping me find them. :-]
       
      J--

    • By jsalyers
      I'm trying parse this paragraph from the rules packet. I think I understand it but as a noob I could use some confirmation.
       
       
      Aircraft, infantry, and vehicle models are not eligible for use during this tournament. We're only allowed to bring CAVs. Bonus points [not allowed] Normally, a force group gets 20% of its threat value pool in points to spend on specializations from Battlefield: upgrades, support assets, support strikes. We don't get any of these points. specialization assets and packages [not allowed] Normally, a force gets 10% of its threat value pool to spend on additional force group specializations, We don't get any of these points.  
      What I think this boils down to is that we're to play CAVs only, using the stats printed on the datasheets with no modifications. We have exactly 5000 points to spend - no bonuses.
       
      Is this right...?
       
      Thanks for your help!
       
      J--
    • By jsalyers
      After annoying Cavboss (sorry) I finally got signed up for the tournament. Looking forward to meeting some of you there.
       
      I have a pile of unpainted Grand Order of the Temple metal CAV piled on my desk that I've worked fairly hard to collect. I plan to play 100% painted. [crosses fingers]
       
      I've only played 3 games so far so forgive me when I get stuff wrong.
       
      J--
    • By jsalyers
      I searched the forum and tried to find an answer to my question(s) before posting but could not. I'm not sure what the accepted policy is on quoting the rules in the forums so if I've broken a rule please forgive me.
       
      In the CAV:SO book page 57 bullet point 3 under Field Notes says that a Target Lock is required before a Guided Missile is fired or it will auto-miss - [paraphrased]
       
      The CAV: Errata says to replace the third paragraph (by which I think they mean bullet point) with a paragraph that includes this line:
       
      "The target-lock action can be used by a model to acquire an active “lock” on a target as part of a ranged assault that includes guided missiles (see Guided Missile, p. 112). ..."
       
      Does making a ranged assault with a Guided Missile require 2 actions (1 for the Target Lock and 1 for the Ranged Assault)?
       
      Or
       
      Does making a ranged assault with a Guided Missile require 1 action that includes the Target Lock and the Ranged Assault together?
       
      Or
       
      Something else I've missed.
       
      Thanks 
       
      J--
    • By jsalyers
      I can't find which faction uses the Hedgehog transport in the list of faction vehicles I downloaded from the Talon Games site.
       
      Can someone explain to me who can use it?
       
      Thanks!
       
      J--
  • Who's Online   14 Members, 0 Anonymous, 0 Guests (See full list)