Shindoku

Pinning Tobias Winterhorn's Arm

12 posts in this topic

Hello everyone, I'm new to the whole miniature hobby as a whole and I was wondering if anyone had tips on how to pin Tobias Winterhorn's arm better. I used CA glue and a paper clip, but the arm has fallen off quite a few times now. The one I own currently is primed and painted now and is going to be used on tabletop for my Pathfinder game as on of my players characters, but I was wondering for the future when I buy another for myself (and possibly when the painted one meets an inevitable accident). Even if you are unfamiliar with this mini, tips on a stronger pinning bond would be appreciated. 

Tobias Winterhorn Circled.JPG

It's possible that the hole drilled for the pin was either too large diameter, or not deep enough.

Also, when I assembled mine, I positioned the staff in such a way that I could also anchor it to the bow.

Posted (edited)

My thoughts were same as Clearman's in that the pin hole's weren't deep enough. Also have you tried using a 2-part epoxy instead of ca glue? Curious as to how your arm keeps falling off as well, dropped from a height by accident or from game handling? If game handling I'd say if possible drill deeper holes. Could try a super thin layer of green stuff between the two pieces so that the ca glue adhere's to both sides maybe, at least than you know both sides are flush. In any case would like to know your solution.

Edited by kazmania7

I have the pin about 3mm into his arm (more so into his head, I destroyed part of the arm due to inaccurate drilling) and just under 2 mm into his hand. I tried to go as far as I thought I could without poking through the other side.