Weird-O

How do Reaper Inks and Washes work?

So I recently had to replace my empty bottle of Nuln Oil, but when they charged me eight dollars for a simple thing of paint, I resolved that no means no, and Citadel had just hustled their last dollar out of me.

So now I need a new source for inks and washes. Reaper sells them, but they seem to be in the same irritating dropper bottles as all of their other paint. I'm a pot-to-pewter painter, but I guess I can switch if needed as a nuclear last resort. I can understand how droppers work for regular paints, but can anyone explain to me how on/off Earth you do that with washes without ending up with a stained paper plate and nothing on your brush? Better yet, can anyone tell me if there's a section of the store I missed where I can find paint in honest-to-elf pots/jars?

Thanks.

• Like 1

Use a palette or a wet palette. On a wet palette a piece of waxed parchment paper prevents paint from bleeding all over. It just sits there. 

• Like 2

Save your blister packs and use those when you make a wash.  

Paper plates absorb paint. Better to use a cheap plastic one (dollar store) or the lid off a margarine tub. 

• Like 4

8 minutes ago, Inarah said:

Save your blister packs and use those when you make a wash.  

Wait, are you talking about making your own washes, or using the pre-made stuff?

• Like 1

6 minutes ago, Weird-O said:

The what the what and the what?

Palette

71pvPNFeiaL._SY355_.jpg

Wet Palette

painting10-21045700.jpg

• Like 3

Paint palette well:

21Z94+m1lfL.jpg

Cheap and readily available in any arts/crafts shop.

Alternatively, find a ceramic escargot (garlic snail) plate. Easier to clean.

ESCARGOT-plate-ceramic.jpg

Wet palette:

STAWET2.jpg

EDIT: Ninja'ed! :ph34r:

Edited by Cranky Dog
  • Like 5

54 minutes ago, Weird-O said:

Wait, are you talking about making your own washes, or using the pre-made stuff?