So, a looooooong time ago, I painted this as a gift to my then-girlfriend (now wife), known to a few around here as Nissiana:

IMG_20180130_131120841.thumb.jpg.767c448efa1823a20c9cb4a742ce5bed.jpg

Then the 54mm "Master Series" came out. Nissiana picked up the Monique DeNoir figure and painted a stellar monochrome version as a gift for me. Around the same time (shortly after the model was released, so early 2008), I picked up the 54mm counterpart of the above figure, Maria Roseblade. I intended at the time to paint her as a gift to Nissiana...and I started painting her. Got a few basecoats, even. Then, other projects for games, contests, etc. cropped up and Maria was sidelined. It's been a running joke ever since, as Nissiana knows about the intended gift.

So, before mid-March 2018, I want to finish this up.

Here's where we are:

IMG_20180130_131104537_BURST001.thumb.jpg.54fbbc80ffdfa0d54ed1a93eda80b1f9.jpg

I want to follow the oxblood leather/blue top ideas of the original figure, but the light blue piping is getting replaced with ivory lace. I'm also happy with where I left a lot of the skin, so I don't need to repaint much. But there's plenty left to do!

IMG_20180130_131709584.thumb.jpg.c874b66862b0d608edb664a9b0e5ac86.jpg

The white patch on her thigh is greystuff, required for some gap filling.

Here we go!

• Like 15

Wish more of the 54mm stuff was available still, hopefully they bring them back.  Coincidentally I just got out the small version of Maria Roseblade to start painting, so I'll be following along with interest! ^_^

• Like 3

Got about half an hour in today. Worked mostly on basecoats so I could get a decent idea of what's what.

IMG_20180131_150315946_HDR.thumb.jpg.4026fd22fc92c4b4d683f336150a4b9f.jpgIMG_20180131_132731024.thumb.jpg.173e989748f04d23359c9ecc6de7b024.jpg

Her top is HD Dragon Blue. The leathers are about 3:2 Blackened Brown and Big Top Red. The sand is HD Ivory something (the label on the bottle is too faded to make out).