Needing a bit of a break from painting West Wind's massive Tiger Mecha (and hoping to work on all the camo for all the German vehicles at once) I've decided to work on the 3 German Panzer Mechs from West Wind's Kickstarter.

3_panzermechs.jpg.7c7ff07bef8066d13dc1e32950cfeb7f.jpg

Here we have, from left to right, the Stug Mech, the Logi Flamm Jotun, and the standard Jotun.

As you can see, these are still some pretty big chunks of resin.  The castings on these new Panzer Mechs are super clean, crisp and smooth.  Quite lovely.

So after way too much base coating with the Tiger, I've found all the bits for the air brush and started practicing to get the mix and pressures ok for at least base coating.

I have some old VOID resin scatter terrain that I'd primed the last time I started playing with the air brush (I've got a couple more pieces with a base coat in blue somewhere).

Grabbed the green from the late german paint set from Scale 75 (it has a very similar consistency to the dark yellow I'll be using for base coating), messed with the thickness a bunch and eventually got a base coat down.

barrels_test_basecoat_ends.jpg.6bc717f1028930422e59a7d4d25fc401.jpgbarrels_test_bascoat_top.jpg.2e701192e4dab4e0ceb12b4f0daed10a.jpg

To me it seems to have come out ok.  Thoughts?

Tomorrow I'll hopefully get some prep done on one of the Mechs.

• Like 8

Looks good so far.  The camo colors were issued as a paste, and then thinned and applied by the troops in the field so the shade/intensity could vary significantly.

• Like 2

Oh yes, I'm planning to vary things, I'd just like to get them similar in terms of the washes, weathering, etc.  And it should make it easier to have everything I need for all of that out at once.