Goddesstio

77343 - Goroloth: An experiment in blending

So... I got into D&D last year because of my husband. I liked it, but I really like painting the minis for our campaign. I used to paint as a kid; I'd go every weekend with my grandmother and we'd paint ceramic figures (think lawn gnomes) while my mom worked. So when I got into dnd and started painting, I had fun and have since painted a ton of stuff. Now I've got some skills but one of the new things I wanted to try was blending. I've never done anything like it, and when my husband got me a Goroloth I decided he would be my experiment piece.

I'm not good at choosing my own color schemes, so I looked up some stock images and found this:

rQuL8aNl.jpg

And that's where I decided to start from.
I based him in a darker purple and blue

QmFWYgvb.jpg

And then things went downhill

4vvrNRQ.jpg

I added a light mix of pink and purple, but even though I don't want there to be too much dark purple left - mostly around the edges - the lines look too solid to me. I'm not sure exactly what I did wrong. Did I not thin it enough?

I tried to go back and wet blend in some of the original purple base to soften the edges but mostly I don't think it worked.

errxAHYl.jpg

RxBMIcll.jpg

I do like his tentacles though. Those mostly worked

1PdO4lLl.jpg

If anyone has any idea how to salvage him please let me know, otherwise I'm wondering if it wouldn't be too much to repaint him in the base purple and start over or if I should just put him on the shame shelf and buy a new one to try again

Edit: Sorry I have no idea how pictures work either. 

Edited by Goddesstio
Pictures didn't work
  • Like 11

Heyo! I'd be glad to give pointers.... but none of the photos are viewable/none of the links are clickable. Fix that up and you'll have plenty of helpers! 

13 minutes ago, Cyradis said: