Miranda2

Need advice on paints, matte or satin?

I have a mishmash of different brands, Army painter, Vallejo and my new Reaper HD set. But I just realized some of the Folk art I bought are matte and some are satin.I need to fill in some holes in my colors and not sure which is better. I seem to prefer the satin but want to keep with one or the other, not both.  Im still a noob so have only painted all the Zombicide minis..I am starting on the Blood Rage minis now..

I will eventually get all the Reaper HD sets but for now I can only get craft paint locally.

THX

• Like 1

The answer is, genuinely, use whatever you prefer. If you like the satin the most, use the satin. Now some people will tell you that's not the "right" answer and that's because traditionally, at the scale of most miniature figures (28-32mm) a matte finish looks more "correct" to the eye when painting metal or plastic figures to look organic. The satin, being more shiny than a matte finish, will give your figures more of an artificial look. For that reason, most of the paints aimed at miniature painting are formulated to be very matte. Reaper certainly is, I believe Army Painter is as well, and Vallejo is usually matte, though some of their paints can be on the satin side depending on what line they're from. On the other hand, GW and P3 paints can be a bit more on the satin side. You can certainly mix matte and satin paints, but there are 2 issues that you will come upon. 1. They may look a little different on the figure. 2. You may have difficulties achieving certain techniques, especially when it comes to blending. A matte paint may not like to layer or glaze over a satin finish and vice versa.