Sign in to follow this  
ManvsMini

77185 Large Earth Elemental

Hi all,

Not only is this my first WIP post, it's actually the first pic shared of anything I've ever painted with anyone (excluding family). A bit nervous, but figured I would try it out to help achieve my work goals.

Got this guy with the first Bones Kickstarter, and always envisioned painting him up like an infernal from the Warcraft universe. (Side question, what is the policy on posting reference material?)

rockpower2.jpg.d910dbf5375aa742782f7f73e767477b.jpg

Right now he's mostly just basecoated and drybrushed with lighter greys, but I'm planning to make some glowing eyes, and some glow coming from between the major cracks between rocks and his fists. It's my first attempt as OSL, so I'm going to go pretty basic. I almost scrapped the glow completely, but hey, fortune favors the bold, right?

Really glad I got him in Bones. I have a copy of him from the old P-65 line (unpainted, unopened), and there is no way I wouldn't end up dropping him during the course of painting.

-MvM

• Like 10

Making him a WoW style infernal is an epic idea. I wholeheartedly support this. It also frees you from me going "but rocks are more complicated than that!" because "Magic". :poke:

You can post reference pictures, but not links, to other sites. So a picture of an infernal is totally okay (to my knowledge). 

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

Splendid thinking! Going to paint all the cracks and crannies in neon green? Keep us posted on this fella! 

• Like 2

Yes, that is actually the plan! Except probably not all the cracks, as many along the back side of his right arm and under his torso are hard to reach with a brush. And some of them are clumped so close together I think it will ruin any glow attempt I try. But we'll see.

2 hours ago, Cyradis said: