Sign in to follow this  
buglips*the*goblin

Zest-it Brush Cleaner

I've been using this for a few months now as a temporary replacement for my Winsor & Newton brush cleaner/restorer.  This is long enough for me to be able to report that it works just as nicely to clean brushes, but is also a lot less harsh on the brushes themselves.  I thought it might be worth a mention because if anyone is looking for a brush cleaning solution this might be worth a try.  It's been doing wonders for my kolinskys without stripping the oils out like W&N brush cleaner can, and it seems like you can use it more often to keep the brushes tidy without worrying about damage from overdoing it. 

• Like 7
  • Thanks 3

Nice. Thanks for posting about this. I added some to the R&Co cart for my next order. I've only used the W&N cleaner, but I don't use it often. The stuff definitely works, but it really can be rough on on nice brushes. Would be nice if Blick carried it.

• Like 2

I might have to give it a look, since at some point I'll be putting an order in with Rosemary & Co anyways, since I'm curious about their brushes... 

• Like 1

Did you order from the UK?  The W&N stuff always felt very harsh to me and I was hesitant to use it as often as I like.  Sounds like this should be given a good trial!  I know I have some brushes that are due for cleaning.

10 hours ago, Harrek said:

Did you order from the UK?  The W&N stuff always felt very harsh to me and I was hesitant to use it as often as I like.  Sounds like this should be given a good trial!  I know I have some brushes that are due for cleaning.

Yeah, I order from the UK a lot because my geographic position makes it about the same amount of effort as ordering from the US or even parts of Canada.  

• Like 2

Any thoughts on it compared to the Mastersons stuff?  Or Master's or whatever it is.  The beige plastic tin one that so many recommend. 

32 minutes ago, WhiteWulfe said: