Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation


About LPG

  • Rank

Recent Profile Visitors

1088 profile views
  • TGP

  1. Real life interrupted my stream of questions; resuming now, I think I've forgotten a few. But here's another long one: How exactly are Firing Arcs intended to work? The rules appear clear as written; but I have a knack for spotting ambiguities (and then picking the wrong interpretation as the "common sense" one...) p48: Front-mounted weapons have a 180-degree forward arc; arm-mounted weapons have a 180-degree left/right-facing arc "cav models may rotate their firing arcs up to 90 degrees left or right by twisting their torso" These are additive, correct? A model could, for example, fire its left-arm weapon at 4 o'clock (right, slightly behind) by rotating the torso 60 degrees to the left (facing 10 o'clock, opposite 4), putting 4 o'clock right on the edge of the Left firing arc? The rules seem clear on it, but the result is surprising; it seems to mean every weapon has a full 360-degree effective field of fire. A Left Arm "normally" points forward, but its firing arc lets it rotate towards the left all the way to pointing backwards; an extra leftward torso twist brings that to a 270-degree rotation. And pointing forward, a rightward torso twist gives the missing 90 degrees. (on the magic of bellar joints: looking at, say, a dictator, it seems a little odd that a left-mounted cannon can be twisted all the way around to pointing backwards, but can't be rotated to the right of straight-ahead at all...) It seems the rules only impact the ability to use left-, right- AND front-mounted weapons at the same time (are there actually rear-mounted weapons? I don't recall seeing any), when firing at a target in the rear half-circle. An opponent directly behind can be targeted by both left and right arm (each doing a 180 in opposite directions) without rotating torso - but then a front-mounted weapon can't be used; or, with a 90-degree torso twist, can be targeted by one arm and the Front, leaving out the other arm instead. I understand (and applaud) the benefits of an abstract system like this over specific per-model, per-weapon firing-arc values; it just seems like a rule that has so little impact it wouldn't change the game much if it didn't exist... (though I may some day be very glad or very annoyed to see an Ogre limited to firing 2 PBGs) And a lesser question: p58, "multiple targets": "a model may split its fire [...] provided that all of the targets are in the same firing arc". What exactly does that mean? - all targets must be within the Front 180degrees, or all must be within the Left 180degrees, or... etc? this much seems clear enough - but then which weapons can be used? only weapons matching the "chosen" firing arc, or any weapon in whose own firing arc a particular target falls? i.e. a dictator with 3 targets: A directly ahead, B slightly to its right, C slightly to its left - A, B and C are all in the same (Front) firing arc, so all 3 can be targeted. Without a torso twist, A falls in both Left and Right firing arcs, so both cannons could target it, as could the GM; only Right cannon can target B. So we can shoot, say, R at B, L at A, and GM at C. OR - A and C are in the Left firing arc, so can fire left cannon and GM at them, that's it. A torso twist could bring B into the Left arc too, but dictator doesn't have a 3rd left-mounted weapon, so there's no point. And a tiny question to close: the 90-degree torso twist is "once a turn"; is a twist "back to neutral" after firing implied? Or do we have to remember "this model rotated 70 degrees left to fire; until it's next activation, that's where it's going to be pointing"?
  2. This was going to be my next question, so thanks from me as well :) CAVBOSS may be interested in the reasons people misunderstand rules, so here's what I found confusing: - The Ranged assault and guided missile section (p57) tells us we can fire missiles as "part" of either a direct-fire or indirect-fire assault; it doesn't actually say how it gets used - The Ranged assault (p54) section reinforces this, indicating that an Indirect Fire assault can be made with either GMs or SA:IF weapons. - The Strike Point Roll section (p56) seems a little muddled on whether a strike point roll is something that applies to an assault or to a weapon. On the one hand, it's "weapon systems with the SA:IF" that "target a specific area"; but on the other hand, it tells us to make a strike point roll after declaring the strike point "for an indirect-fire assault". Since it's been established that a GM is used as "part" of the IF assault, this left me confused as to whether the strike point should apply to the GM. A GM requiring a strike point roll in one case but not the other made little sense to me; and drift on a non-AoE weapon seemed a little silly. So I'm glad to see the "sensible" interpretation is the correct one.
  3. Thank you! Most enlightening, with a couple of surprises I'd like to follow up on... Just a quibble on this. The bullet list tells what modifier each cover type has; what it doesn't seem to address is that "adjacent to E1 hill" is considered Light Cover (and E2 => Heavy). The Cover and Line of Sight Diagram shows it (CAV A to CAV C, CAV A to CAV G), but that diagram is presented as illustrating rules discussed elsewhere... I don't see an elsewhere. This is the big surprise. The impression I got from the book is just the opposite: p54, column 2, bullet 5: "the cover object is adjacent (within 1") to the attacking or defending model's base" To me that sounds like a clear "CAV A adjacent to E1 hill suffers cover penalty when shooting 'through' the hill". What am I misinterpreting? Does a hill not count as a "cover object"? (if not, that seems to only leave the examples as providing rules for hill cover...) Small surprise here; I don't see anything in the book that refers to the "attacker in a wood, but close to its edge, so no penalty" scenario. (example A vs F comes close, but it's defender in the wood). I'm happy to take your word over the book's, but is there a paragraph I skipped over? In fact, the "attacker or defender adjacent to a cover object" rule I quoted above seems to contradict it: if cover from wood applies even when I'm outside the wood, how can it NOT apply if I'm inside it? But it's already clear I've misunderstood that rule somehow. Final thought: thanks for the "important note"; that's a stacking case I should have thought about.
  4. Context: new to CAV (& the forum, & wargames in general); picked up the KS1 core mostly for paiting, picked up the rule book out of curiosity when it was offered; last weekend finally got around to trying out a basic dictator-vs-dictator game to get a handle on the rules. There were a number of points of confusion during play, which we just winged, but now it's time to clarify. More posts will follow; let's start with the cover rules. (if any of these points are plainly stated in the books and we just missed it, page & paragraph references appreciated!) 1) Is cover always symmetrical? I think this one is simple, but I'm double-checking it first since the rest relies on it. Given CAV B and CAV B standing in two particular spots, will the direct-fire cover modifiers always be the same, regardless of who's shooting who? Example: CAV A standing in light woods, CAV B in open terrain; CAV A firing at CAV B suffers light cover modifier, and so does CAV B firing at CAV A? Same for standing adjacent to a hill? 2) How does cover from hill-adjacency work? The text of the rules mentions line of sight exists but a cover modifier applies when a model is "adjacent" to an elevation lower than both attacker and defender elevations, but doesn't seem to say what that modifier is. Among the illustrated examples is one showing a CAV near an E1 hill, benefitting from light cover; but it's not clear how to extrapolate from this. a) CAV A on E0, near E1 hill, CAV B far away, standing on E0 b) CAV A on E0, near E1 hill, CAV B far away, standing on E2 c) CAV A on E0, near E2 hill, CAV B far away, standing on E0 etc. what's the general rule? 3) Does cover stack? a) CAV A standing in Heavy Woods, CAV B standing in Light Woods. What cover modifier is applied to direct-fire attacks from A to B? One source of Light Cover, one source of Heavy Cover, couldn't find a clear statement on whether we pick the heaviest cover or add both. b) CAV A standing in light woods, adjacent to heavy woods; CAV B in open terrain on the other side of the heavy woods. What's the cover modifier now? c) CAV A standing in heavy woods, on E0, adjacent to an E1 hill. CAV B standing some distance beyond the hill, on E0, in open terrain. Again, what's the cover modifier? Just higher of the wood & hill cover, sum, other? d) CAV A and B on E1, on opposite sides of an E2 hill, both within 1" of it. Again, does the advacent-to-hill cover apply once or twice? I'm hoping for definitive answers from CAVBOSS, but I'll be interested to know how others handle it (and if everyone handles it the same!)
  • Create New...