Jump to content

successorlord

Members
  • Posts

    86
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Posts posted by successorlord

  1. The SA description states that it hits all models in the AOE. If the AOE covers the centerpoint of the Rhino, Dictator, and Wyvern, then the Rhino, Dictator, and Wyvern all suffer an attack from the flamer. Only the Rhino gets defensive fire because it is blocking LOS for the other two.

    Like I said I was pretty sure I already knew the answer, but the incongruity of it offends me.

  2. And while I suspect that I already know the answer to this, and that it's going to be something along the lines of 'keeping it the same way for simplicity', I'll go ahead and ask.

     

    A flamer is a Direct Fired AoE weapon. The attacker, let's say a Puma, is directly in front of a target (a Rhino). Directly behind the Rhino are a Dictator, and a Wyvern. Now according to every other rule in the game the Dictator and Wyvern cannot see through the Rhino, cannot move through the Rhino, and cannot fire through the Rhino; but the Puma's flamer will hit all three (assuming they're within range)? I know respondents are likely to site K.I.S.S. here, but if that's the case why have a unique DA AoE weapon?

     

    As far as the Point Blank argument goes: the whole concept of a point blank shot is in direct relation to the weapon used. It's ridiculously easy to hit something with a rifle within 25m or so, but that's a challenging shot with your average pistol. Now only a meter or two away and the rifle is becoming too cumbersome to aim effectively especially in a dynamic environment, but the pistol it in its element.

  3. Chrome Posted Today, 03:57 PM

    Everywhere in the rulebook where "Gunship" was used as a reference for a flying model is getting changed to MClass: Air.

     

    Sweet Narlyathotep that's the best news I've gotten all night!

     

    Is there an exemption for Infantry with MClass Air (Jump Pack)?

  4. Technically, I don't think there's anything in the rules stopping you from doing this. But...
    specifically, can infantry start the game loaded on transports from outside their own section

    When the Model States rule mentions Infantry, it says "their transports". I'd say if they're not in the same section, the transports don't belong to the infantry, so they couldn't use the Model States rule to mount up prior to the game. Does the rule explicitly state that? No, but it is the way that I would rule at one of my BL Events.

     

    Let me preface that by saying that we (Mil-Net) worked hard to balance Transports, Soft, Shredder and Close Combat out of the days of invulnerable Soft APCs. So I'm not very partial towards a mechanic that bypasses all of that balancing for such a low cost. So I'm biased against the rules as they're currently worded.

    Having seen a warlord go from pristine to a greasy, smoking smudge on the battlefield in two (successive) activations where I was incapible of doing anything in return I whole-heartedly agree with Chrome!

  5. I just realized a problem with this--TL/EST is a non-repeatable action, so the two models have to do it at the same time--so it doesn't work, period.

     

    Core Rules (pg 76)

     

    When conducting a Non-Repeatable Action of any type, all Models in the Active Section that are conducting the same type of Non-Repeatable Action must perform it at the same time.

     

    EST and TL are not the 'same' action.

  6. How the stacking in this case would work:

     

    1. Activate EST with a TC3 model.

    2. TL with CFP model; note that actual TL does nothing, as it does not stack with the (larger) EST.

    3. Roll for target point with TL from TC3 model, plus standard indirect modifiers from the CFP-er.

     

    So, it only gives you a +1, since you'd have your own (probably +2) TL bonus anyway, and those don't stack.

     

    Ok so the equation without the Talon involved would be (assuming a short range shot):

     

    Specter [TC 2, FRS/2, CFP] - Target Lock (TC 2 x 2) + FRS/2 = +6 to the Target Point Roll

     

    But, if the Talon were using its EST pod (again assuming a short range shot):

     

    Specter [TC 2, FRS/2, CFP] w/ Talon [TC 3, EST Pod] - Target Lock (TC 3 x 2) + FRS/2 = +8 to the Target Point roll

  7. Before or during a battle how much must your reveal about your force to your opponent? We work under the system that any question about a specific data card is always answered, but what about your overall roster? Can/should you keep your specific strike package from your opponent for the element of surprise or do they have the right to see everything you brought and the final assignments of every asset (where applicable)? I'm not talking about some underhanded cheat here. I'm a stickler for doing my pre-battle paperwork to the last detail, but I can really see a reason for withholding what my strikes are until after the battle. Now after the battle, my sheet is fair game to prove I did everything legally (now that the bombardment caught you densely packed in your deployment area).

     

    I am all in favor of the good sportsmanship thing of answering questions your opponent would likely know (What's the Harpy's DV?), I'm just curious where others stand?

  8. When a section is preparing to use a CFP can the CFP initiator use another model's EST bonus for his TC or is this a violation of the 'No Stacking' rule? Ex: A Specter uses an activation to lock in a CFP point. A Talon in the section initiates its EST. The CFP rules from the Errata specify that the CFP-er must first perform a Target Lock. The Specter has a TC 2 (undamaged). When calculating the Target Point roll does the Specter have to use his own TC only, does he add the Talon's TC 3 (undamaged) to his own, or does his Target Lock action serve to double the Talons 3? I was under the impression that using any part of the Talon's TC would violate the 'Multiple Target Lock bonuses do not stack' clause.

     

    On the same topic does the 'Target' part of a Target Point Roll have to be a model? If you want to land IA on top of a enemy attack section can you say that your target point "...is a point directly in between the Warlord, Rhino, and Puma..." or do you have to nominate a model as the target point, defaulting to its center point? This reflects back on my first question as I'm under the impression that EST must be declared on a specific model, not on a point in space?

  9. I think there's an example in the Ranged Attack section that shows the attacking model splitting fire as well. On the other hand I don't have the rules in front of me either, so it could be a fig newton of my imagination.

     

    I find splitting fire useful only when I know I'm guaranteed a hit that will kill one target or I think I have a reasonable chance to kill it. I'll train the rest of the guns on the next target. Though in our last game that "reasonable chance" cost me a fire support section.

    I thought to go look it up because I just got my first Thunderbird.

     

    Note Matt I said First! Mwa ha ha! Mine is an evil laugh!

  10. Upper half doesn't = torso. It means the physical upper 1/2 of the model. Every model has an upper half.

     

    For Critical Dmg: the Auto 10 is a chance to score a critical hit. The 2nd Attack Roll is the Critical Hit Attack Roll, which is what you have to get to inflict dmg on the Infantry.

    Ok, Thank you Chrome. Are there plans to clear up some of the ambiguous language in future revisions? When you know what the rules mean it makes sense, but a literal reading is unclear.

     

    So on the LoS question then, though, a Tank section can never shield it's recon elements from an attacking CAV then?

  11. The roll of a 'natural 10' on an attack roll (or a 9-10 if model has Blaster), there is the possibility of a critical hit. A second attack roll is made, if the second roll beats the target's DV (including any shielding it has), then a critical hit has been scored and the target takes additional damage equal to the difference between the second attack roll and target's DV (plus shielding).

     

    Transported infantry will only take a point of damage if the second 'confirmation' roll succeeds. (Similar to DnD on a natural 20, you then have to roll to confirm that it is a critical). The difference is the extra damage.

     

    At our FLGS, we use "model's eye view" for LOS. For non-infantry models, this is usually from the cockpit (except for non true-scale gunships, then use 1.5"). for infantry, it is from their 'eye' level.

     

    The LoS rule refers to the [target] Model's upper half. That was the point of confusion. Infantry and Vehicles don't have an upper half, and the picture at the end of the section shows the CAV only drawing a Ground leve LoS to the Infantry and no note of even an attempt of Eye Level LoS.

     

    As for the Critical question I can see the basis for your interpertation, but I still disagree. Last night was the exact same arguements which we ended with die roll. I'll wait for the voice from on high before weighing in on this futher though to avoid a circular arguement.

  12. No, it says "Anytime a transport takes Critical Hit Damage". (p.81) That means you still have to confirm with the second roll to see if you actually did any critical hit damage.

    Yes and the second roll is definded as "additional Critical Hit damage" that would mean that the first point is Critical Hit damage in and of itself.

  13. Page 67 of the rulebook - 2nd full sentence

    "For example, if a Data Card reads 'x2' that would mean that it has 2 of these weapons, each of which can be fired separately at different targets."

    Thank you. I'm always more comfortable with a reference.

  14. Somewhere along the way we got it stuck in our heads that a single model cannot declare fire on two or more targets in a single activation. Yet when I went back and looked for the rule I couldn't find it. Am I missing something, or did we misread something in the first place to come to that conclusion?

  15. In order to take critical hit damage you have to make the same to hit roll you used when you made your original attack. Also, pay attention to the wording "Anytime you roll a natural or Auto 10 on any Attack Roll, you have a chance of doing extra Damage" That's all a 10 on an attack roll is, a chance to do extra damage. You still have to roll successfully to get that extra damage and consequently inflict damage on the infantry inside the transport.

     

    That's not what the rule says. The rule says that when the Transport takes a critical hit, not when the Transport takes additional damage from a critical hit.

  16. Good question (and probably a bit thorny too, :lol: )

     

    I would question the wisdom of allowing gunships of MClass Air to be able to support CC. I would not have much issue with allowing ground based transports to do so.

    Core rules pg 80 "Gunship and Base-to-Base Contact with ground Models" states clearly that the can't, but with the looser B2B rules a ground model could make the arguement.

  17. Critical Hits (Core Rules pg 91)

     

    Anytime you roll a natural or Auto 10 on any Attack Rol, you have a chance of doing extra Damage...

     

    ...The Auto 10 rules does not apply to Critical Hit Attack Rolls, as you must have a positive result to achieve additional Critical Hit damage.

     

    Here's the other half of the arguement. The wording says to me that the 10 is a Critical, and the secondary roll is for "additinal Critical Hit damage".

  18. Taking Damage while Transporting Infantry [Core Rules, pg 81]

     

    Any time a Transport takes Critical Hit Damage, any Infantry Models it is currently transporting takes a single point of Damage.

     

    The point that was unclear to us at last night's game is the definition of 'Critial Hit Damage'. Do the Infantry models in a Transport take a point of damage when a Critial Hit is rolled, or only if additional damage occurs. Ex: A transport is targeted and the attacker needs a 7+ to hit. He rolls a 'natural' 10, but then only a 5 on the second roll for additional damage. Does the Infantry inside the transport take a point of damage?

     

    Someone more experienced can probably answer this easily (although I noticed that I am no longer "newbie" - I thought I felt a tingling when I wrote that 20th email!), but does a critical happen when a ten is rolled, or does the ten allow for the chance of a critical, which only happens with the second roll? I guess I was importing a D20 mindset to it - 10=chance for the critical, second roll indicates whether or not a critical.

     

    See that's the way my opponent reads the passage, but I read the exact same words the other way. The 10 is the critical, the second roll is just to determine if that critical does additional damage.

  19. Support (CAV 2 Errata Beta Rules pg 4)

     

    Models in Valid B2B contact with an enemy Model always lend Support to attacks conducted against that enemy by friendly Models, even if they might themselves be conducting an action other than Close combat.

    If a model has valid B2B with two enemy models does it lend support to two separate Close Combat attacks? Ex: A transport moves in toward an enemy section. The transport stops in B2B with a Talon and a Warlord. The Infantry onboard the transport now exit and initiate Close Combat, the first squad versus the Talon the second squad versus the Warlord. Does the transport lend its support bonus to both combats?

     

    It seems that the liberalization of the "Valid B2B Contact" rules may be a bit too loose here, to me at least.

     

    A second question I could not find any rules reference for was firing into Close Combat. If two or more models are engaged in Close Combat during a previous activation and no action has been spent to leave B2B contact; can a model take actions other than Close Combat without leaving B2B (can a Rhino in B2B fire over the Infantry at a Dictator in another section) and does valid B2B contact (non-AoE) have any effect on incoming fire (in the Rhino example if the Dictator fired back, would both models be hit, the Rhino only, or would the shot be randomized)? If I'm just missing a rules passage somewhere a reference would also be appreciated.

  20. Taking Damage while Transporting Infantry [Core Rules, pg 81]

     

    Any time a Transport takes Critical Hit Damage, any Infantry Models it is currently transporting takes a single point of Damage.

     

    The point that was unclear to us at last night's game is the definition of 'Critial Hit Damage'. Do the Infantry models in a Transport take a point of damage when a Critial Hit is rolled, or only if additional damage occurs. Ex: A transport is targeted and the attacker needs a 7+ to hit. He rolls a 'natural' 10, but then only a 5 on the second roll for additional damage. Does the Infantry inside the transport take a point of damage?

     

    Establishing Line of Sight (LoS) [Core Rules pg 83]

     

    In order to have a valid LoS from your Model to your opponent's Model, you must create a LoS corridor that is 1/4" wide between the two models...

    Line of Sight Corridor (Eye Level)[Core Rules pg 83]

     

    With this option, the line is drawn at "eye level" from the center of your Model to any part of the target Model's upper area.

     

    I did not quote the ground level LoS rules as there is no question concerning those rules, but with the Eye Level LoS the pictures at the end of the LoS section (pg 84) and the wording of the rule (i.e. "upper area") implies that Eye Level LoS is only used if the target is a CAV? Is this the case. Do Infantry and Vehicles use only Ground Level LoS? If so is this for Incoming fire or both Incoming and Outgoing fire?

  21. CAV Core Rules page 120:

    "You receive one free Air Strike per game turn for each full 2,000 points of a players Task Force size (Min 1)..."

    Just to clarify something; if I were playing in a 4,000 point game but my Task Force actually comes in at 3,995 points would I get 1 Air Strike per Turn or 2?

     

    I believe the intention to be that you get one Air Strike for every 2,000 points alloted (so two in the example above), but the actual wording is not clear.

×
×
  • Create New...