CAV Leagues

I'm going to try to be organizing a CAV league in my area (Buffalo, if any of you are near-by)

I'm wondering if any of you guys and gals are in a league or run a league - what do you do? What do players expect and want, what makes for a fun league, what are some pitfalls to avoid... how do you guys work around semi-reliable and un-reliable players etc.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

We ran a league last year, and I'm starting up another one at the end of the year.

We ran the first one with fixed rosters, and different scenarios and random opponenents. People were fairly random in showing up. I played when necessary to fill out the games.

In my new league I'm putting together a number of unrelated games. I'll run the Super Jag tourney a couple times, I have a couple of scenarios planned, I'm running a game with weird terrain, and I have a Warmaster. My goal is to get the players needing new units each week. To offset the constant demand for new units, I'm letting players play with unpainted units, I'm telegraphing the unit needs at least 2 weeks in advance, and I'm giving away a prize every week. I'll tell folks what blisters they'll need in two weeks, in the hopes that they'll choose one of those for prizes.

I'm also giving away a blister to each player that shows up five times. Five attendances nearly covers the price of a blister in BL points, so I'm just plowing that back into the league.

PS

See.. that is awsome :)  I wouldn't even think of things like that.  I love the idea of getting people blisters for showing up 5 times :)

How do you create the need for new units?

1st games are Super Jag's tourney, which is 2000 points, all CAV.

3rd game is Capture the Flag, which requires an infantry (only infantry can pick up the flag...) and has APCs as "strongly recommended."

4th game has rough terrain everywhere. Aircraft and B-S multi-legs are "strongly recommended."