Sign in to follow this  
mmmgreenstuff

Rusted Metal

I guess an easy and quick solution would be to do one or two brown washes over a metal base. Of course,t hat only really works if you want to use metallics. As for NMM, I guess you would need to do some brushwork there with different shades of a rusty brown color. Maybe mix some dark red with brown?

Depends on what you are doing.

If working with NMM, I'm not going to try because I'm not good at it.

If working with Metallic paints here is what I would do:

Basecoat in your steel color. Now, get out some brown, red and orange paint.

Thin down those three colors a bit. Take an old somewhat worn out brush and dab the brown onto the areas you want rusted. Don't cover the metallic basecoat completely. Now take a bit of the brown and red and mix them together and dab those on, not covering all of the previous brown. Now take some of the orange and mix it in with the previous mixture and dab that onto the weapon, again, not covering all of the brown or the reddish brown you have previously applied.

Please note when I say dab, try to have only a very small amount of paint on your brush so the paint applies evenly and thin. You want it to look a hair transparent, but opaque enough that after the tird color application some areas look completely like rust while others look like metal beginning to rust. Basically you have only a little more paint on your brush than you would use in Drybrushing.

Hopefully that helps.

I have two methods.

Method 1. (easiest) I find a combination of brown (GW chestnut wash is a good substitute and my preferred) and orange wash looks good. It actually works on both metallics and NMM. Keep the mixture extreemly thin and apply in layers as a little bit goes a long way. Also by varing the mixture ratio, you can vary the intestity of the rusting.