Newbie Info.....

HANZO

Im pretty new to CAV bit love it already. Im trying to find out any info about the new CAV 2 because im holding off a bit till i know what im going to be getting into in the future. Iv read all the interviews on mil net and others about CAV 2 and was wondering.

How does the price of metal cause a company to create a new paper product??? Im sorry but that sounds weird.....i could see if they said that the new rules used less units per point so less units were needed or the new minis are smaller because of price....but metal prices causeing a change in a paper product seems a bit weird to me.......

any one got a bit more info on this??

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The price of metal increasing means they have less funding to divert to pay for the time needed for someone to work on two game engines.

You have X funding, and it takes 1/4X man-hours to make a game. Suddenly pewter jumps from 1/3X to 2/3X. You now have 1/3X left over to fund 1/2X worth of development. However, it only takes 1/10X to adapt a new game from a developed and tested game engine. 1/4X +1/10X is less than 1/3X, so you can slip in under the total X available this way.

The numbers were pulled from thin air, btw.

Thanks...but that didnt make to much sense in the context to me.........if you got less funds wouldnt you stick with something proven...than venture into new groung at a higher price...its more of a risk on a new game now than when metal was cheeper.....and people like me that were about to drop some cash on the game are more stand offish now ........ instead of buying all the books and a lot of figs all im willing to risk is buying a used copy of the main book online....buying a few basic CAVs and sit on em and wait to see what will still be accurate in 2.0.....