Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Akela

CAV 2 Closed Beta v1.1

Recommended Posts

All Alone exceptions

 

Last sentence should now read

Gunship Models and Models with the Scout or Light Scout Special Attribute are immune to this rule.

There you go.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We were playing "Convert or Die" as within the First Range Band (i.e. well within radio communication and weapon's range). Yes, Psyros get the "Undead Immunity" from the Warlord version.

 

First two sentences of last paragraph of "Scan for Targets" right before the chart should now read:

 

Note that it is possible for an enemy Model performing a Scan for Targets action to break Stealth. If one of the 3 objects chosen by the Model performing a Scan for Target action is a Stealthed Model, the Scanning Model must make a Scan Check.

 

Erion posted my clarification earlier in the thread regarding Gunships getting the same Scout exemption regarding All Alone.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just a quick question, with psyros being included as a faction, are we going to be seeing models for them.

 

You know, soon. ::D:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Matt swore to me today that my chances of having a painted Psyro army for the winner of the Western JJa Championship at NukeCon in October would be better than my chances of winning the Superbowl next year.

 

:lol:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

APC's and the specialist platoon:

 

This came up during army building over the weekend. If you put an APC in the specialist platoon, can you fill it's transport capacity without taking up model slots from the specialist platoon.

 

Specifically this was in reference to fielding FIST teams. If I put 4 models with Tranport/3 in the Specialist platoon, can I then fill them with 12 FIST teams? The common sense answer is "no", but since it's a beta test I figured it's better to get the official word.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Scout Platoon: Can you include infantry with the Light Scout SA without adding a transport?

 

If so, please clarify the scout platoon wording so that the transport allows infantry that lack a Scout SA to be added to the platoon.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just a suggestion for the final rule book:

 

A Task force organization graphical chart for quick reference.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Again, it's organizational but should the "Target in cover" attack modifiers be under Target conditions instead of attacker conditions?

 

Also, the Upgrades Ranged attack modifiers for ESM need to be clarified that Enemy models don't give beneficial effects and friendly models don't give detrimental effects. (unless, of course, they do) ::D:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Should the Mastadon have Hunter SA? It doesn't seem right that the Chimera's direct fire mode isn't at least as powerful as the Rhino's and Emperor's.

 

Also, a few things that came up this weekend during testing:

 

Wrecker - do range brackets come into effect with subsequent targets, or is range ignored after the first target and the -2 from the Wrecker SA used instead. My thinking was that the brackets weren't used, since you weren't targetting the extra guy.

 

Also, in one case where I used it, the original target was on the same terrain level as my Duelist, but the guy behind him was on a lvl 1 hill. Would the 2nd guy have been able to use Defensive Fire on my CAV?

 

I allowed it, but just to appease my opponent. My line of thinking was that if anything, the 2nd guy's computer would have calculated the shot as coming from the friendly model and shot at it if anything.

 

Critical Damage - The rules should be moved back to the section on resolving (in)direct attacks. I couldn't find it up front until we were half way through with our 2nd game. Mentioning it up front is fine, but the rules need to be in with the actual mechanics of resolving combat.

 

Specter - It and the Regent are the only Fire Support CAV that don't have Barrage. The Regent at least has a 3 RAV, but why would anyone ever take the Specter with only a 2 RAV? It only hits on target 30% of the time? What good is that? At first I thought it must be made to use w/a Recon unit to Chain Fire attacks in, but the Malvies don't have any other units w/CL stock. And besides, even if it does hit on target, that 2 RAV isn't going to do crap against most 9 DV targets, needing a 7+ to hit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I almost forgot the Racial SA's! We played Templars, Terrans, Adonese and Malvies in our two games.

 

Didn't really get a chance to use the Terrans' abilities. I didn't have enough points to buy a ton of gunships or extra strikes. My opponent used the Malvie ability one time, but I just turned around and killed the turncoat on my next activation, before he could do anything with it. He used it too quickly tho IMO, I think it can be a decent ability when used correctly, like late in the game to steal a superiority CAV from the other guy that's by itself, then repair it up quickly.

 

The Templar's kicked total butt in our game. With a 5-2 initiative card advantage, I could always get in two or three attacks on one of his sections before he could move. W/2 platoons of CAVs, 1 of tanks, 1 of fighting vehicles and 1 gunship, I made pretty short work of his 2 platoons of CAVs. He conceeded halfway though the 3rd turn.

 

Then it was the Adonese's turn to kick my butt. Having Deflector on every model in your army is friggin huge! But not as huge as getting to ignore it on every enemy model as well! Its a bit too much IMO, maybe it should only be one or the other. I'd go to shoot something with one of my Dictators, and he's got +1 DV from his imaginary Deflectors. Then he goes to shoot back at me, and he gets to ignore my now-worthless Deflectors. That's a 2 point swing, which is huge!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For Bonds of Knighthood and mechanized infantry platoons, does the -1 apply to the transport requirement for the platoon, to the # of allowed infantry stands, or to both?

 

I ask because it's still very possible to have 8 infantry models in a platoon with only three transports.

 

Also, does the Grenade SA count as indirect fire for the purposes of building a Mortar platoon?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...