Jump to content

Recommended Posts

OK, so only Chrome and I would have this issue. :B):

 

In a last man standing game, what would happen if these two things occur?

 

1.) On the last activation of the turn, one faction has a model standing, one has a tough model down that has not attempted a Toughness roll? Does the turn end or does another turn start to allow the model to attempt the tough roll?

 

2.) Model A kills Model B on the first activation of the turn. Model B kills Model A wiht a defensive strike. Model A does not have Toughness, Model B does. Side B still has an initiative card available this turn. Would they get to go and attempt the Toughness roll?

Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd call it a tie and say that it's called "Last man standing" and even the tough ones are laying down. Then I'd suggest a ro-scham-bo to settle the tie. I go first.

 

Seriously, i'd call it a tie or allow a tough roll and leave it up to my opponent if we hadn't agreed on how to settle this prior to that.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I think this is pretty cut and dry. A stunned model is NOT a dead model.

If you have a Tough model down, then he is still alive and a valid model. It doesn't even neeed to be at the end of a game. If at any time during the game the last model of a troop gets stunned, I would not pull his troop card out of the initiative pile until after he fails his tough check on his next activation. This happens a lot when you use Solo monsters. they usually have toughness, and are a troop unto themselves.

 

Case 1 - you would shuffle the initiative deck (ok, you don't need to shuffle a single card), and take the next turn. If he makes the check, you win. If not, it was a tie.

 

Case 2 - you take your activation and make your check. If he makes the check, you win. If not, it was a tie.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Technically I didn't think the game was over until ALL the initiative cards had been flipped and the END phase was completed for the very last card. With that in mind... the model with Tough (side B) "SHOULD" get his card AND his opportunity to recover with his SA Tough. If successful then he/she is the victor. If he/she fails the Tough roll and dies, then apparently with no one left it would be a tie game.

 

Unless special circumstances allow for the negating of the SA Tough, do NOT disallow the player/model his SA.

Link to post
Share on other sites
OK, so only Chrome and I would have this issue. :B):

 

In a last man standing game, what would happen if these two things occur?

 

1.) On the last activation of the turn, one faction has a model standing, one has a tough model down that has not attempted a Toughness roll? Does the turn end or does another turn start to allow the model to attempt the tough roll?

 

2.) Model A kills Model B on the first activation of the turn. Model B kills Model A wiht a defensive strike. Model A does not have Toughness, Model B does. Side B still has an initiative card available this turn. Would they get to go and attempt the Toughness roll?

1) Yup, turn ends and next round begins.

 

2) On Bs activation, it gets a Tough Roll.

Link to post
Share on other sites

While you can argue the point that it's technically correct that the tough roll would needto be made, I would not feel good about winning or losing based on a d10 roll. I'd still call it a drawunless it was a tourney or something that required a winner.

 

*Runs out to paint Dwarves so he never has this problem...*

Link to post
Share on other sites
While you can argue the point that it's technically correct that the tough roll would needto be made, I would not feel good about winning or losing based on a d10 roll. I'd still call it a drawunless it was a tourney or something that required a winner.

 

*Runs out to paint Dwarves so he never has this problem...*

It's not that a d10 has decided that game. It's that the final d10 is the last tiebreaker.

 

Obviously you continue to get your tough rolls.

 

PS

Link to post
Share on other sites

Arround this neck of the woods any game that close is considered a tie. Lets face it, there is no overwhelming victory and even if the model gets back up, the force is gone. Again, anything this close is assumed to be a tie arround here.

 

Skipper

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, it happens so rarely that it happened twice in one night. ::P:

 

While you can argue the point that it's technically correct that the tough roll would needto be made, I would not feel good about winning or losing based on a d10 roll.

The problem with saying that is: what if he had missed with his melee strike and I had killed his guy w/my defensive strike, leaving my Death Seeker alone and standing? I still won based on a d10 roll.

 

I honestly didn't think it was either that big of a deal (rules-wise) or difficult to decipher. My guy had Tough/2, I rolled my die, got a 9 and won the game. I don't feel that just b/c it was the last activation of the game makes it any more or less important than the dozen other Tough rolls I made during the game. If any one of those earlier rolls had turned out different, we could have had a completely different outcome.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Yeah, it happens so rarely that it happened twice in one night. 

 

Now come on, let's be honest about this. The second game was a three way dance where I used a force that was NOT suited to it, mainly to show the new players some Clerical Magic. Not that I managed to get off more than one spell. How many 1's did I roll tryign to case non-combat spells? :wacko:

 

 

Anyway, about the victory conditions, yeah it's a crappy way to go down, but that's how it goes. The thing is it brought up some other situations I felt needed to be answered before I run the Con tourney in a couple weeks.

Link to post
Share on other sites
The second game was a three way dance where I used a force that was NOT suited to it, mainly to show the new players some Clerical Magic.

Niriodel made Balthon look like he was ready for the retirement farm! Or would it be retirement slave pit? :poke:

 

And it's not my fault you didn't have any ranged attacks. You knew both of us had archers and I'd be intent on turning your guys into pin cushions. :lol:

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...