Sign in to follow this  
ladystorm

Paints, reaper and others.

OK, in a pique of sudden influxing cash (read: New Job), I picked up the GW Mega Paint Set. it's a great set, lots of colors, and the like. But I would like to hear other people's shoutouts about the Pro Paint Line (carried by the Great and Powerful here at Reaper) and the oft vaunted Vallejo Paints. I'm intrigued by both, but would like to hear peoples opinions and/or RL use of them.

Both the good and the bad, best to know what I'm getting into.

--colorfully here

--lstormhammer

Some colors are good, some are bad, some need to be watered down a lot, some little. Whatever brand, color, batch of paint you get, it seems like it'll be different.

With that note, I'll say Vallejo paints have very good coverage even with thin coats. But I'm not a pro. So I'm perfectly happy with any paint I can get, Citadel, Pro paint, Vallejo, doesn't matter to me that much. And in any brand, you somtimes get the bad batch, which I guess can't be helped. For example the vallejo white I bought doesn't seem to go smoothly, it has some particles in it that don't seem to dissolve. And my Citadel bleached bone is very dense.

My one complaint is that none but vallejo seem to have enough pastel colors. Citadels are notoriously bright. And Pro Paints are somewhere in between.

Well... That's my opinion on paints as an amateur painter who can sometimes paint between the lines. :p

Thanks for the info, Mengu.

I appears those qualities are always prevelant in any paint you get (though from what I hear, Vallejo paints walk on water, feed the masses with loaves and fishes, and heal lepers on a regular basis). I do like the Citidels I have, and I'd love to try out the Vallejo and the Pro Paints.

--lstormhammer

We haven't yet tried the Vallejo line.

We do not like the packaging on the Citadel line.  The caps don't seal tight and the paints end up a jar of goo.  Leakage happens with these more than any others we've tried.