Brushmaster Posted August 3, 2005 Share Posted August 3, 2005 Please confirm my interpretation that when "Speed" is cast on a model , it immediately activates that model . I may be deluding myself , but I think I read in another post that it does . Does this activate on a solo? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gus Landt Posted August 3, 2005 Share Posted August 3, 2005 You read correctly. Speed makes the target model immediately take a movement action. Doesn't matter if the target is a solo or a member of another troop. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brushmaster Posted August 3, 2005 Author Share Posted August 3, 2005 Kewl! New tactic discovered ! Could be quite nasty with multiple clerics in the same unit plus multiple solos! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reaperbryan Posted August 3, 2005 Share Posted August 3, 2005 Also be aware it does not "activate the model" as in "allow it to take all actions" - it causes the model to immediately take a move action. Not a Move-equivalent Action, not a Combat action, it must be a move action of somewhere between 0" and its full movement. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brushmaster Posted August 3, 2005 Author Share Posted August 3, 2005 Thanks , so it does NOT activate , its just allowed to perform a movement action . I'm a bit disappointed now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spiritual_exorcist Posted August 4, 2005 Share Posted August 4, 2005 when "Speed" is cast on a model , it immediately activates that model Keep dreaming http://www.reapermini.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=16245 I've been thinking about breaking this spell out as well (thus why I asked whether or not the model gains its move action immediately when the spell casts, or gains an additional move action when it next activates). We have our answer now though, model immediately gains a move action. It'll make for one heck of a swift moving Reborn or Avatar when you break out the Nefsokar against me this weekend. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brushmaster Posted August 4, 2005 Author Share Posted August 4, 2005 We'll see .! I've got to break them out of the blisters yet! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reaperbryan Posted August 4, 2005 Share Posted August 4, 2005 Models in blisters gain a +17,368 to their DV, but suffer a -276,941 to their MAV and RAV . . . I am sure I read that in the errata somewhere . . . For the humor impaired, this post is a joke, and is not to be taken as a real rule. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thorbjorn Posted August 4, 2005 Share Posted August 4, 2005 Now, since it is not an activation, can multiple Speeds be cast on one solo/model? If so, I can think of a few usues for this one. :) If only the Necropolis got Clerical magic... ;) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qwyksilver Posted August 4, 2005 Share Posted August 4, 2005 Damn Bryan, because I was just about to field 2 blisters of Bull Orc Warriors I have lying about. Although all those numbers are irrelevant and can still be used, since 10's always hit Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stubbdog Posted August 4, 2005 Share Posted August 4, 2005 Now, since it is not an activation, can multiple Speeds be cast on one solo/model? If so, I can think of a few usues for this one. :) If only the Necropolis got Clerical magic... ;) I believe yes, but remember its based on casting on a target within a very small radius from the caster, meaning that if you wanted to say move a figure from one end of the table to the other in one turn, you would have to have casters standing in a chain from one end of the table to the other wasting their activations to move the unit along. Put it this way, it does not work as well as a single teleport spell. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brushmaster Posted August 4, 2005 Author Share Posted August 4, 2005 I believe "Speed" works best cast on a Solo when you are almost certain to get the next activation with that solo . I did this the other night with a Celestial Lion and ripped into some pesky skelli archers ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spiritual_exorcist Posted August 5, 2005 Share Posted August 5, 2005 I believe yes, but remember its based on casting on a target within a very small radius from the caster, meaning that if you wanted to say move a figure from one end of the table to the other in one turn, you would have to have casters standing in a chain from one end of the table to the other wasting their activations to move the unit along. I have my doubts about this actully being the case, since spell casting takes place all at the same time, all of the spells would have to be cast at the same time, with the target model being in the radius of each spell caster all at one time. That being said, can multiple spell effects stack? Could I cast 2-3 Bless spells on a Troop. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
abngi Posted August 5, 2005 Share Posted August 5, 2005 That being said, can multiple spell effects stack? The only thing that doesn't stack is equipment-with-equipment. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spiritual_exorcist Posted August 7, 2005 Share Posted August 7, 2005 So since spells are cast simultaneously, you would agree that two spellcasters could dump Speed spells onto the same model and that model would get two immediate move actions? Sounds like a poor mans version of Teleport to me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.